We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jolly Good Lunch”
Review of The Rising Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Southern England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Jolly Good Lunch”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Visiting St.Mawes we were caught in a brief shower, so dived into the nearest place which was The RisingSun. The eating area was full, but there was a large table in the lounge suitable for for the six of us. Our dog was welcome. We only had a main meal, which was very good. The three who had the fish and chips declared it excellent. We had two bottles of wine, plus two beers and a gin and tonic. The service was leisurely, which suited us. The waitress was jolly and exceedingly helpful. We considered the final bill to be quite inexpensive compared to similar establishments down south. We'd certainly eat here again and we recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanterntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves with us, with food and drink and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    65
    26
    22
    20
See reviews for
64
98
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The place is in a lovely spot which is really the only excellent thing that this venue has going for it. Food is fairly good but had to wait at the bar for someone to come and take the order for nearly 10 minutes which was not good. I was a little annoyed that the waitress just deposited the food on the table and went leaving me wondering why I had no cutlery. We had to go back and ask her to be told just inside the door. Tell your customers when they order food that it is self service. She should have noticed that we did not have cutlery!! Bad customer service. Provided with no salt or pepper either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your experience was not a good one. The issues have been bought to our attention and have been addressed. We hope you will visit us again for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a shame. What was a great pub - which we have visited regularly over the last five years - has been spoilt by declining standards and a very rude staff member. All we asked for was for our beef to be well cooked rather than rare. Most carveries are more than happy to oblige but the staff member took exception and was rude to my wife. Unacceptable customer service and we will not be returning. Their loss.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a lovely break at the Rising Sun. Our room was spotless, with a sea view and very comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast - "full English" was the best we have ever had ( and my husband is a conisseur!) we also ate in the restaurant and found the food very good and good value. Our dogs ( Border terriers) were made welcome and sat under the table in the bar. Bathrooms are very clean but could do with a bit of updating. We particularly liked the small bottles of fresh milk in a fridge for guests to have in tea and coffee

Tips
Sea view rooms have a lovely view of the harbour
Try the fish and chips- all the locals do and it is excellent
Catch te ferry to Falmouth

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth a bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a 5 day break at the rising sun and really enjoyed it. Rooms were comfy and spacious, decorated with taste and with little extras that were so nice and thoughtful. All the staff were friendly and always willing to help. Food was well above the average pub grub and the breakfast menu was varied and excellent. Having travelled down from Scotland we were very pleased with our stay.
Well done to the excellent staff. You made our stay one to remember.
We will definitely be back next year for more of your amazing friendly service

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is nice as they overlook the harbour. But all the rooms are lovely and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinah724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We do take pride in all areas of the Rising Sun, and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a drink on the Sunday in the rising sun & decided to go back for a meal later in the week, we sat outside on the terrace before hand & they kindly reservied a table for us while enjoyed what was left of the sun. The food was good & nice real ale for him & sangria for me. Would reommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited the Rising Sun, sitting outside on a lovely sunny day. Enjoyed a fab fresh crab sandwich, which was delicious. However, how can it be acceptable to have someone using a sander, sanding a table top just around the corner? Most of our lunch was spoilt with the almost continuous noise of the sander - and yes, I know is not VERY loud but it is very irritating when you are enjoying a chill out lunch, outside in the sunshine, on a day off !! Surely this could be done away from the Hotel? It would have been a 5 star lunch without this inconsiderate intrusion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the sanding that was going on, upon this it is all done around the back of the building. It is difficult sometimes with the tables to get them round to where the space is limited, however we have taken this on board and have managed to get them all looking lovely for the summer, without any more disturbance. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.0 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
626 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
904 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun

Property: The Rising Sun
Address: The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Rising Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
Rising Sun St Mawes
Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
The Rising Sun St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing