We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Myself and my new husband have just got back from our mini moon in St Mawes - we had been staying at The Idle Rock and fancied to try one off the local eating hotspots! We had fish and chips from the very quaint little fish and chip shop (part off the establishment) and to quote my husband 'they were the best he has ever had!' so we though we would try for dinner - always a good sign when you walk in the door and the place is pack!!

We hadnt booked but the staff were happy to accomodate!

Very cool/ trendy place - where the staff are happy to make recommendations and drinks and food arrive promptly!

The food speaks for itself - absolutely amazing and hats of to the chef!

I had Hake and my husband had the fish curry - One of the best meals we have ever had!

Dessert took a little while to come and we were offered another round of drinks on the house - this was great fully recieved

Highly recommended for great food/ great atmosphere and highly relaxing

Thank You

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank danni h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

A good option with an okay menu but nothing outstanding. Needs to have a bit more of an edge given the location and the options nearby. Fish curry was and interesting option, great flavour but not sure you want to be fighting a crab claw in curry sauce?

Thank SteveHH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Visited this so called fish and chip shop Thursday evening to be told by the server they had run out of chips. Obviously poor management and the server not too bothered, no sorry or any sort of apology. This was just before 8. How bad in a tourist area!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank CornwallJackieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will G, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about last Thursday's chip situation. We peel, cut, steam, bake, and then fry all of our chips ourselves to ensure the best chips we can offer. Unfortunately, this means that occasionally in the summer months we run low after a very busy day. On this day in question we didn't get our regular potato delivery, so we were more behind than usual. We are desperately trying to find an additional premises in the area to allow us to prepare more chips in advance so situations like this don't happen in the future.

Hopefully next time you are in town, you can stop buy for some chips so we can show you what all the fuss is about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Tje lemon sole was delicious but there are things I am not too sure about! I found it very hard to concentratr on the conversation at our table because you just hear everyone else ´ s conversations! Is it the bare walls? Not one single picture anywhere? Anyway really bad noise insonorisation... If that is english!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tashavineuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

food good but being a person who eats out regularly feel that unless they address their prices they will have a long empty winter

2  Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing