We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food !”
Review of Victory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victory Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
melly77
1 review
“Great food !”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Had two fabulous meals on a recent trip to st mawes..hake with saffron and leek sauce, grilled bream with crayfish rissoto.. lovely food, relaxed feel and friendly staff ... all in all lovely :). We did nt end up trying anywhere else as this fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    23
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
15
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We ended up in St Mawes by accident. It's not a place I would come unless I was looking for the ferry. We wanted a lunch with a view, since the harbor is nice, but could not find a hotel offering that. We found the Victory on a side alley and they advertised lunch with a view. As it turns out that is exactly what we got, but mainly because the place was empty when we arrived on the late side. If you walk to the top dining area and go outside in the front, there are three tables with a decent but interrupted view of the bay. Actually, the building in our way helped to keep down the wind. We ordered sandwiches which were reasonably priced and very well done with all fresh ingredients and tasty bread. I will call it average because the view is not brilliant and really is limited to just a few tables. Also there was a vacuum cleaner in the hall blocking the entrance to the upstairs dining area. and a messy cleaning closet with a broken ATM machine opened onto the stairs to the rooftop dining area. But the staff were quite courteous, the food was served promptly and the bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We visited this pub twice on our recent holiday. We enjoyed the food very much on the first visit, but this was on a busy fish and chip Friday, and the place was very crowded. The landlord encouraged us to book a table next time, so we did. The second visit was much quieter, as we chose an 8.30 booking. Greeted at the bar by with 'the steak's all gone' (it was steak night that night), we were still undeterred, though bemused. We were told by the same member of staff to order the food at the bar. We sat down, and another staff member came to take our order straight away! We gave our order, and enjoyed the sea bream with risotto (really excellent) and a goats cheese salad. We chose desserts, which again were excellent. By now it was 9.20pm, so we asked for coffee, only to be told that 'the machine is switched off for cleaning at 9'. All of the remaining customers laughed at this. Nevertheless, this is what the waitress insisted was the manager's policy. Another lady asked the same question, just for devilment really, and got the same deadpan response. She was a resident, so was told if she waited 30 minutes, the machine would be in action once again. We left at that point, rather confused about the whole experience. The food we'd tried was really good quality, and beautifully presented, but the management appears confused over what it is offering: pub grub, or gastro/restaurant. Either way, if you are allowed to book a meal for 8.30, please give us a chance to finish it before you switch off the coffee machine, and the lights to boot!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scooterdog28
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Fish and chips decidedly average. Service so slow..tick tock tick tock. The poor girls' in the bar trying to do too many things at once. It wasn't their fault...more staff needed.

The tables in the bar are so close together it is impossible not to hear everyone's conversation.

When there are so many lovely places to eat we won't be returning to The Victory.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooterdog28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Mawes hotels

Walton on Thames
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My partner's family have been visiting St Mawes since 1975 - he has fond memories of staying at The Victory Inn. The last time we went to there was 5 years ago for a meal on the upstairs restaurant - lovely meal with friendly service. Oh dear how things have gone downhill since then.

We booked a 4 night stay in August this year - and at £90 a night were looking forward to a pleasant and enjoyable stay. How wrong we were !!
We booked to stay in The Cabin room but were put in The Nelson Room (the one at the front of the pub).
The stairs up to the "formal Restaurant" and rooms were scruffy and go past a junk cupboard - nice! Our room was down a dark back corridor passed bags of dirty laundry and a cleaning. cupboard.
The room itself was stuffy and had not been cleaned or hoovered - there were dirty tissues and empty bottles under the bed. The bathroom ceiling and shower had mould growing up them and the tiles by the sink were loose and broken.

In the 4 nights we stayed there the room was not cleaned, we received no clean towels, the dirty water tumblers & coffee cups were not replaced, neither were the bottles of drinking water. There was an kettle, dusty bowl of tea bags and a half empty jar of instant coffee.
Most of all it was the noise - I know it's a pub and during opening hours noise is to be expected - but to be kept awake for 4 nights until 3am is not acceptable !!

The pub menu was a tatty laminated piece of paper with bits of masking tape over the dishes that weren't available. Food in there was ok but nothing remarkable for the prices charged. One evening we decided to eat upstairs in the "formal restaurant" - recalling the lovely meal we had there 5 years previously.
It has become scruffy and run down. The outside terrace is a mess with water filled dirty ashtrays - not quite the description on the website.
We were both expecting a proper menu but were handed the same scruffy and torn piece of laminated paper as we’d been given on our first night downstairs in the bar. The wine menu had stains all over it and was sticky. Another disappointment and a lesson learnt - after that we ate at The Rising Sun and were treated properly as paying guests/customers should be.

The “Rear Patio Garden” was a health hazard - adorned with dirty overflowing ashtrays, an old dishwasher and rusty patio heaters. The smell was nauseating.

If we could have found somewhere else to stay, we would have but unfortunately for us everywhere was full. We now know why The Victory Inn still had vacancies.

When we asked to speak to the manager, we were told he might be in later but they weren’t sure when. So, I listed our numerous complaints with the lady who was working when we left.

I have to say, she was very sympathetic and listed our grievances with a promise to pass them on to the manager. I sincerely hope she has done so. We were given a discount on the balance we owed - which was a nice gesture - but does not excuse the appalling standard of service we received during our stay at The Victory Inn.

In summary, I suggest that they either concentrate on running a pub, a restaurant or providing clean, comfortable, reasonably priced accommodation. As it is clear that they do not have the properly skilled or trained staff to run all three.

At £90 a night I expected a much better service. My advise is pay the extra £30 a night and stay at The Rising Sun !

Room Tip: Don't book The Nelson Room if you want to sleep during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleMavis71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a similar experience to the previous review. Five out of the six meals were very good. One meal was disappointing however. We asked for seasonal vegetables instead of new potatoes and received pickled red cabbage and mashed swede – hardly seasonal vegetables in July!
The service was poor. The waitress was not particularily friendly and on two occasions, did not bring us things we asked for.
When I came to pay, I was charged for the bill for the neighbouring table. It was quickly sorted out but it is a concern if another customer has had the same experience.
We booked the Victory Inn on the strength of previous reviews and would go again as on balance, the food was good but this review would have been 5 stars if the service was better.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank codhead628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

As the title says nice food but the service was very poor indeed we had booked a specific table then mooved to a tiny table in the corner then had the opposite table put on our bill and it took 3 attempts to sort it out and we were still over charged for the drinks so what sould of been a nice evining turned out to be a farce !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harwell1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
626 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
188 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Inn

Property: Victory Inn
Address: Victory Steps, St Mawes TR2 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Victory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory Inn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing