We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Victory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victory Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great Inn right next to the harbour so it is central. Neat clean room with on suite. Parking has to be in the general car park but you can drop off your bags before parking for £4.50 for 24 hours. Great breakfast at a negotiable time!!
Book in for the veranda in their restaurant- just great fish dishes at a good price and a wide selection of wines. I think the staff made our experience more special as they are so accommodating. Trips up the river on on the door step - great walks as well.
We were there for the carnival and it was great fun, noisy and well worth staying for.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwynBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Popped in for dinner and wasn't sure what to expect. We had a table on the terrace and were warned about sea gull attacks (thankfully the gulls weren't interested in us). We had a great meal- lovely hake and scampi far better than at the Rising Sun Inn. We had a view of the harbour and the kayak racing in truth we had a partial view due to the roof line of the houses, but it was good enough for us!

This is a great place to eat- including with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Flyinmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Dropped in for a light lunch. This pub has a nice location just off the front at st Mawes, if you sit outside you can look down the street and onto the harbour. The beer was fine and the food itself was very nice but I though the sandwich prices fairly outrageous, over £7 for a ham sandwich and over £8 for crab. For a single round and a few tortilla chips that struck me as one hell of a mark up. Although one member of staff was perfectly affable, one other could only be described as surly. I enjoyed the lunch but mainly because I was on holiday with good friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljrNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We popped into the Victory Inn on the spur of the moment decision to eat before returning to Truro. It was a cold and very blowy evening and this inn looked very welcoming from the outside. As indeed was the inside with several fish dishes on the specials menu and a curry evening. Good, basic and fresh food (though the risotto was a little too overdone), tasty and reasonably priced. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Y0rkshire_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Well located in the centre of St Mawes and the olde world charm is attractive, but there the positives end.
The bedroom had a mattress where springs had popped out of their pockets and it was very uncomfortable. It was also located by the kitchen extractor fan -making sleep impossible will it is on. Windows could not be opened easily and would be impossible to use as a means of escape in case of fire.
The bathroom had no vent fan and the window could not be opened.
Only my wife had breakfast and the soft boiled egg was hard and the toast like a "door step"!
Other meals may be fine, but this establish is not recommended for B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We ate at this pub 4 nights in 7 days, and every meal was great. The staff treated us as regulars and took great care of us each night we ate there. This pub will be a very memorable part of our trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

As a regular visitor to St Mawes I have visited this pub every time I go down and I am never disappointed, the food has always been very nice and always hot and cooked perfectly, the pub has a lot of family history to me as all my family come from st just in roseland. The pub always has a family atmosphere and is a very welcoming place, a must visit when coming to st mawes

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.0 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
197 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
926 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#4 of 5 in St Mawes
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Inn

Address: Victory Steps, St Mawes TR2 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory Inn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing