We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bakery on St. Mawes pier”
Review of St Mawes Bakery

St Mawes Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: St Mawes bakery is a local family owned business. It has been running for over 100 years now. We take pride in our freshly baked and made products including our delicious Cornish pasties which are made to a recipe as old as we are. We pride ourselves that we make, bake and serve our products on the same day which are made in St Mawes itself (less than 200 m from our shop).
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bakery on St. Mawes pier”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

On arriving into St. Mawes on the early morning ferry, we stopped at St. Mawes bakery for a spot of breakfast. We had a cornish pasty and a sweet bun which were both delicious. The bakery has a few tables outside on the pier with nice views of the bay. Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdesou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    42
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stopped for a break”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stay in St Mawes each year as a base and enjoy the ambiance :0) This little outlet on the corner of the harbour is a little gem. We use it each year. This year we were lucky to find a seating spot on their little patio to have brunch. We had hot pasties and tea (and coffee). The pasty was delicious and the service delightful (they enjoy their work). On the patio you have an excellent view of St Mawes. We have also in the past purchased cakes, bread etc. Worth a stop even for takeaway service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weedsatdenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Patrick`s Perfect Pasties are the best!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely place and definitely the best pasties in Cornwall!! My son Michael will only eat pasties from here, although he was brought up in St Mawes and born too. We moved away and now visit when we can. This is the first place on his list to visit as well as his dad, papa and his uncle of course who still lives in St Mawes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great pasty & service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

In a region claiming to have award winning pasties, these are definitely up with the best. Two Cornish ladies offered a warm and inviting welcome and served the best pasties and sausage roll. Whilst small, it serves quality food and you should drop in when in St Mawes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yes_Chef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Quirky little eatery, worth a visit though!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Situated on the corner of the quayside car park sits the bakery with a small, slightly elevated seating area next to the road. We ordered some Cornish pasties but they were out of these. They won't be long, give me 3 minutes said the lady. True to her word, 3 minutes later a young lad arrived from up the road carrying new supplies! Not too expensive, piping hot and very tasty. Odd location and set up, not sure where the actual baking was carried out, but very nice food, worth trying out for a snack.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Mawes Bakery also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to St Mawes Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing