We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service lets this great restaurant down”
Review of The Idle Rocks

The Idle Rocks
Reserve with OpenTable
The Idle Rocks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$48 - US$84
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock’s restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Service lets this great restaurant down”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had two dinners in the last few days, and the food is absolutely fab, for a very reasonable price given the quality. The location by the sea and the views make the restaurant even more special. Service unfortunately was not great: not very attentive nor friendly, with the exception of one waitress who was wonderful. A recommendation despite the service, as this would be a definite 5 star.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    92
    38
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a pre dinner drink on the terrace in the late sunshine. Fabulous views over the estuary and very comfortable sofa - we didn't eat here but the drinks were nice, service not very attentive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuneHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The setting for this restaurant is superb and the decor is very stylish. I feel this is an excuse to charge rather high prices for a pleasant but small meal. My husband had a piece of lamb so small that he thought they had forgotten to put a second piece on the plate. The dessert was very good but again very pricey. Service was patchy and a few times we thought they had forgotten about us. Over all a pleasant meal in a lovely setting but not a match for the prices charged.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank calexandraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Above itself”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As welcoming as the Tresanton is, down the road in St Mawes we have the other side of the coin!
After trying one morning to pop in for a coffee while waiting for the ferry to Falmouth, and being told tersely it wasnt open yet for non-residents (how dare we!), we later went back and was experienced to slow unhelpful service, and a general air of the Hotel being above of all it surveyed.
Well, it's not! Dont bother!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank veggiebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On a previous visit to this really well presented and decorated hotel/restaurant we enjoyed a delicious lunch of fish goujons and hand made chips, with a bottle of wine.and at a table inside of open patio doors. The price was quite reasonable.

So this visit we took along some friends expecting to enjoy a lunch of the same standing.

Sorry to say we were disappointed. The prices had risen seemingly quite substantially and the portions reduced - very prettily presented of course, but it did seem a bit of style over value.
Furthermore, a friend ordered chargrilled/roasted vegetables but couldn't finish them as most of them were too charred/burnt. They did offer to replace the meal, and took it off the bill when we said no thank you.

This is a great pity as the hotel/restaurant is in a fabulous position, is very well presented and has friendly and attentive waiting staff.

Maybe they ought to rethink their menu and pricing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Idle Rocks also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Idle Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing