We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Braganza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Braganza
Ranked #4 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Braganza is, without doubt, one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. A wonderful, historical & evocative house in a superb setting, yet the amenities of the village are just a few minutes walk down the hill. Our room (7 we think) overlooked the beautiful front garden with the river estuary/sea beyond. The room was excellent & a very good size with a small but perfectly formed en-suite built in. The welcome & hospitality we received was second-to-none. A gracious house run by a gracious lady in Krysia. Continental breakfast only, but lots of variety including toast & warm croissants, so something for everyone. For our evening meals we went no further than the Victory Inn, just 2 minutes away, which justified its positive reviews on this site having a varied menu & great atmosphere (& good choice of wines!). This was our first visit to Braganza & we enjoyed being the only guests, but we have already booked again & are so looking forward to returning for a longer stay in a few weeks time when we expect it to be busier. The long journey from Yorkshire is certainly worth it. We cannot recommend Braganza enough for it's elegance, charm ,comfort & setting.Thanks Krysia & Alyson for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carnevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Braganza is a beautiful old Georgian house in the centre of St Mawes with wonderful views and easy walking distance of the pubs & shops in the village. Good parking. Nice continental breakfast with fresh croissants, fruit and really good freshly brewed coffee. Beds are very comfortable. Best rooms are those with harbour views.

Room Tip: ask for room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Braganza is lovely, laid back and full of warmth and character. The rooms, specially sea rooms, are fantastic with gorgeous views. The garden rooms are lovely too and you can see the badgers, foxes and birdlife, all from your window. They even proveide a powerful torch to see the badgers at night! The fruit, yoghyrts and breads were very scrumptious, and there was no guilt for us if we had had a huge English fried breakfast! St Mawes is like going back to my childhood, quaint and colourful. I had a lovely days sail with Fal Wooden Boat Hire, and saw seals and even a kingfisher. I will be back,hopefully! Its the loveliest bed and breakfast I have stayed in, and much nicer than any hotel!

Room Tip: I had a garden room w bathroom, it was lovely. Rm. no. 7 and 8 have best views but one can sit in ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I have been visiting this fabulous B&B in St Mawes for the past 10 years. Not only
does it command such wonderful views looking out over the peaceful and picturesque harbour
but it is a glorious Regency house full of delightful artefacts and run by one of the most charming and popular ladies you could ever wish to meet. Braganza, as its name suggests, is the most welcoming, comfortable and inspiring place we have ever stayed in the UK.We shall continue to return as long as we can. So far we have visited 8 times!

Room Tip: Take a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Nothing could have prepared us for the dramatic impact of entering the pedestrian gate off the steep hill from the harbour. The house is a detached gentleman's residence of fine architectural style, crammed with antiques and fine original paintings. Gardens surround the property and the front rooms overlook the harbour and the headland.

The owner was absent but her trusted friend, Bridget, stands in for such occasions and we were exceptionally well looked after. Breakfast was continental style but wide ranging and plentiful. Dinner was available at a number of venues in St Mawes. We ate splendidly at nearby "The Victory".

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilkos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I had a wedding in St Mawes in July and booked out all of the rooms for myself and my bridal party. The Braganza team was absolutely wonderful about accommodating everyone and helping me plan out my group's stay. They also let us get ready for the wedding at the house and my photographer was so inspired by the gorgeous rooms that we did a bit of an impromptu photo-shoot in the house and around the grounds. They were some of the best pictures of the day. I can't thank their team enough and I highly recommend the Braganza to anyone planning a visit to St. Mawes.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view out across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Let me say that #1, I'm an American who likes my creature comforts, preferably in a 4-star hotel; and #2, I'm not a B&B "type". So, when I tell you that my stay at Braganza was lovely, charming...dare I say "excellent....", you will understand that this Regency-listed accommodation had many high hurdles to cross to win my accolades.

Our large, high-ceilinged room had the most extraordinary view of the harbor with two exceptionally comfortable chairs (a French bergere and a velvet club chair) in which to sit and take it all in. There was nothing unusual about the beds or the pillows except for the fact that I NEVER sleep well in hotel beds (I don't care if it's Relais & Chateaux) and most often travel with my own pillow. For some reason -- the sea air, the exercise you get climbing the hills of St. Mawes, or just the gentle comfort of Braganza -- I slept like a baby all seven nights I was there. Extraordinary. It was enough to make me consider moving in permanently.

The house, its decoration, the masses of books and artwork have all the eccentricity and gentle splendor an American expects from the English, even if it turns out that the proprietress, Krysia, has not a speck of British blood in her. And not knowing that a proper English breakfast mandates a boiled egg, my three traveling companions and I thought the breakfast each morning was a delightful feast. The table is set with proper silver. Tea and coffee come in individual silver pots, on silver trays (you get the whole silver picture).

One serving table is laden with about six different kinds of cereals, granola, muesli; fruits (we had the great opportunity of having in-season Cornish strawberries as well as raspberries, blueberries, bananas, plums and something called a greengage.). Another table was equally laden with muffins, bagels (are they Cornish?), and breads for toast. Bridget, Krysia's able right-hand woman, would put a croissant in the oven as soon as she knew you were down for breakfast and butter, jams and cheeses were there to accompany it. I gained two pounds on the breakfasts alone. Depite the hills and sans the boiled egg.

All of this a.m. feasting occurs in a dining room with a splendid Palladian window overlooking the gardens and harbor, which was dotted with sailboats of all sizes and the reliable "Duchess of Cornwall" ferry. Walls have lovely family portraits (Krysia's mother started the Braganza B&B so there is a history here) and oddly, a bear skin.

Braganza is a place where you feel that you are apt to meet characters from a novel. It's deliciously interesting. Everything here has a story, and if you're lucky, Krysia will tell you one or two of them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.0 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#4 of 5 in St Mawes
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
649 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braganza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braganza

Address: Braganza Grove Hill, St Mawes TR2 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range: £45 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braganza B&B is an elegant Regency House built around 1800. This historically listed house is set in the midst of a large garden overlooking the harbour and the bay of St Mawes. Although the house is in a secluded area it is within a few minutes walk of the village with its many restaurants. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braganza St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing