We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Views in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Braganza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Braganza
Ranked #4 of 5 St Mawes B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Views in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

I spent a long weekend in Braganza and it was just lovely.
Friendly staff who really care and large rooms which allow for your own privacy.
The Views are quite literally the best!
With it only being a 5 minute walk to the sea front, it's a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TootsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Booked to stay here for 3 days despite a couple of negative reviews. I think those people must have been staying somewhere else, Braganza is beautiful.

We fell in love with the place from the moment we entered the security code to open the electric gates to lead us down to the magnificent grounds that overlook the harbour. The house is beautiful inside and out, having been owned by the same family for decades.

If you're looking for a modern, clinical, characterless place to stay then this isn't for you. If you want to experience a few days of luxury in a homely atmosphere where quality abounds then here it is.

This home reeks of class and during your stay you'll feel like one of the privileged. The views from the front of the house are worth the price of your stay on their own. Inside, the wide curing staircase takes you to rooms that are furnished to complement the house.

Our room (make sure you ask for No 7) was at the front and it's curved window framed the stunning views across the natural harbour to the distant headland. The double bed is massive (larger than King size) and all too comfortable. There is plenty drawer storage and the good size wardrobe is equipped with lots of hangers. The en-suite shower room is a little cramped but adequate and very clean. There is even a free-standing air-conditioning unit in the room, but our August visit wasn't hot enough to warrant its use. The TV is small, but who wants to stay in to watch TV when in such a beautiful village as St Mawes!

Breakfast (from cereal to full English) is excellent and is served at a single table in the dining room where you're able to share stories with other guests. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast instead of having to fit in with the usual "breakfast window" - so much better for a lie in after the wedding we enjoyed in St Mawes.

If you're not good with steep hills then Braganza isn't for you, but this is a small price to pay for those magnificent views. The village centre is just a couple of minutes walk down the hill and St Mawes Castle is just a 15 minute stroll away.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngloAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

I've stayed here several times over the past few years and on every occasion the welcome and service have been terrific. The rooms are elegant, comfortable and clean. I can't think what the previous reviewer is on about. True, there is a shabby chiq feel about the place -- that is part of its charm -- so if you want a plastic, sterile environment you would be better off booking into a Premier Inn, or some-such motel. (Not that there's one in St Mawes, thank God) . But if you want to feel at home in one of the most elegant houses in Cornwall I suggest you give this a try.

  • Liked — Welcome, position, the house itself, views
  • Disliked — Not much really. It had everything I would expect from a first class B&B
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank maxtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2007

I don't know what people look for in a Bed and Breakfast, but the basic things I expect are quiet, for a good night's sleep, and cleanliness. The place was quiet, but to be frank the rooms in the Braganza are awful; dirty, dusty and full of junk that the owner seems unwilling to throw out. Yes, the house is beautiful, and yes, St Mawes is pretty. But why stay in such awful rooms? I felt a slight disgust in the carpetted bathroom and was glad I had my slippers. The shower in the bath was useless too. For me the antiques in the house don't bring any compensation for such poor accomodation. Don't go if you want a clean and pleasant room. If you want to see a few nice antiques, go ahead.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank RegBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2006

Just spent four nights at this great B&B right in the centre of the charming village of St Mawes.

The bedroom was perfect and it had the most amazing view over the harbour. The breakfasts were as good as I have had anywhere.

Highly recommended to the more discerning B&B traveller, who like myself is just not prepared to pay the prices that some hotels (one not too mention very close too here) charge.

Helpful?
10 Thank Traveller2u1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 6 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braganza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braganza

Property: Braganza
Address: Braganza Grove Hill, St Mawes TR2 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braganza B&B is an elegant Regency House built around 1800. This historically listed house is set in the midst of a large garden overlooking the harbour and the bay of St Mawes. Although the house is in a secluded area it is within a few minutes walk of the village with its many restaurants. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braganza St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing