We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub with good food”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: US$10 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with good food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A very busy pub with a reasonably priced menu full of good fresh food. I particularly enjoy their fish and chips. Staff very friendly and good place to sit whatever the weather inside or out. Reasonably good views over the harbour. It is often busy so food could take a little longer than usual, especially during the summer period.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many Thanks for your review, we are glad you had an enjoyable time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    174
    92
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fairly predictable pub grub”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great choice of ciders and real ale.
Food is a bit mixed, we eat there twice, mussels main course were a bit gritty. Steak was good, Sweet and sour chicken with rice from the specials board was like a Bird's Eye boil in the bag.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Travelled by ferry from Falmouth and were looking forward to a nice lunch. The menu was quite expensive and our meals were overall disappointing. The felafel burger was so dry it was not edible, the accompanying salsa was submerged in vinegar, the scampi was not well cooked and the side salad could have been fresher ( brown lettuce edges) Staff were busy and no one came to check we were happy with our meal.... We will not eat here again. A shame to serve such poor food in a pub with a great view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JC26Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we are sorry your visit here wasn't up to standard, the comments have been passed onto the kitchen and other issues have been dealt with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely position & great views”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having just been ignored at the victory Inn we walked into the Rising Sun & were served drinks instantly, found a table overlooking the bay & ordered their homemade burgers. Told 20 minute wait as cooked to order, no problem with that as they were indeed very good & homemade. Friendly service as well as good beer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your burgers here and had a nice view aswell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“See full review”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have given quite an extensive review but generally, good food, good rooms and excellent staff and excellent central location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Niddum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had an enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing