We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£130
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anne
Melbourne, Australia

Excellent hotel in wonderful location

Review of Cornishman Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Aug 2022
My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights at the Cornishman Inn. The breakfast was excellent, cereal, fruit and cooked breakfast. The bedroom was very good with a very good bathroom. The location is ideal, right in the town and just a few minute's walk to Tintagel Castle. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was outstanding. The presentation and quality of the meals was excellent. The staff were very attentive and welcoming. We would definitely stay again.
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£150
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family room, comprising a double bed and a single bed, 2 comfortable chairs, chest of drawers & en suite bathroom - room 2
Booking.com
£140
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £140
0.0 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £165
1.4 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£65
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £65
0.1 miles from Cornishman Inn
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £203
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
Algotels
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.9 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    £80
0.1 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Room 1
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £130
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Cornishman Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tintagel
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
199
116
70
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
116
70
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub play area open fire cooked breakfast burger would stay again breakfast was excellent evening meal fish and chips tea and coffee amazing food great atmosphere bed and breakfast castle menu cornwall locals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

Quirky lovely hotel. It’s ran on few staff, the guy behind the bar handled everything in his stride even when the place is busy, and the soda machine is temperamental.
We had a table for dinner reserved, the staff were helpful, the tables were over sanitised and needed a re-varnish which is planned for winter months as they feel sticky but the meal was great, and good menu options.
The rooms we had were clean and well presented, I thought this hotel had better decor than other places when I searched for a hotel, and the best location. The only issues were the king bed wood frame sticks out and my calf got a huge bruise, we stuck cushions on the corners so we didn’t walk into them so much. Headboard was lovely but pointy. Our other room had a key that didn’t lock or unlock easily unless a strong guy in the case of our party, but we updated the hotel team so hopefully that’s sorted soon. We had one room that was right by the bar, it seemed a little extra being so close to people but with a closed window we didn’t have a noise issue, only thing we did hear was the hum from the generator right beside our room, but we slept fine and had a little fan going due to the heatwave in our room anyway. The room did have some damp patches and areas in need of a redecorate but generally the room was good. One of the glasses had lipstick on so there was that, but nothing to drastic. We slept well. Tea and coffee supplies were good. Breakfast was good, the childrens portions were a touch too big and it would have been nice to have a menu to order from rather than a spoken list you had to remember. Also the lady came to take the order when I wasn’t at the table. As mum I was ordering for me and the children so kind of important I was there, other than that I wasn’t too disappointed. I like good service but I think with the low staff numbers they did valiantly. Breakfast starting at 8.30 is a little late for us but I worked ok. Check out there was no one around but the chef came and said a nice goodbye when I called.

Locally Tintagel castle is wonderful, lots of steps though, it’s a hike. We went in a really hot day but loved it. There is a Range Rover taxi service you can buy to get up and down to the hill to the entrance and visitor centre, cafe and toilets. It was fab. Careful of seagulls they will sneak attack for food your child is holding. Little shops in the town are cute and have yummy ice cream. Local premier and spa shops are good if you need waters and snacks etc.

Room tip: Parking is good at the hotel for guests. Check in is at 4pm but we did get in around 3 which was kind of them for rest after the castle.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GBox510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2022

What a wonderful place! Food is fantastic at very reasonable prices. But the staff, amazing! Looked after us with lots of smiles and good banter. We didn't stay here (unfortunately), but used the restaurant and bar in the evenings.
Met some wonderful locals while we were in the bar. Always a good sign!
Thank you! x x x

Room tip: We didn't actually stay here; wish we had!
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sunnyboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2022

The inn is gorgeous and full of wonderfully interesting things, my favourite being the fireplace sign. I loved the food, the beds were comfy, beautiful views of Poldark country, nothing wrong there. Thank you Cornish peoples Inn.
Shout out to one of the great staff who I really got on with.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bethanyrecommends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2022

Tintagel itself is worth a visit but The Cornishman Inn twice so. I was told the pub itself is 500 years old, though other parts were told.
The food was smashing, the rooms cosy and the general atmosphere was fun.
For kids there is a play area in the back garden, and certainly seemed to go out of its way to welcome families.
People working there are great, friendly and helpful. This is a proper little British inn.
My only beefs are that breakfast starts at 08:30, so you may get really hungry and ready to get on with your day.
And if you don't have your own transport you may want to get a taxi from the station as public transport in Cornwall is not the best.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 330bethyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

Visited end of July 2022. Turned up early but the rooms were ready. Small free car park at the rear of the pub. Rooms are in a serrated building at the side. Ours was up a few flights of stairs. Room and bathroom were small but immaculate. Bed very comfortable. Floors very noisy. Couldn’t put the bathroom light on without the fan coming on so used the sink light. Air con unit underneath the window was running all night. Managed to ignore on the 2nd night. Evening meals were lovely.

Room tip: Lots of parking. Tourist information not open very often so would plan visits beforehand. Everything closes very early.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AndreaB816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews