We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trenowan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trenowan
Ranked #1 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hospitality, room, food and location all spot on. Trenowan offers tremendous value for money without compromising on quality in any way. Highly recommended and thank you again to our hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
145
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We (myself, my fiancee, my mum and her partner) stayed at Trenowan for 2 nights and loved every minute of it. Our only regret is that we didn't get to spend more time at this beautiful B&B, as we were out exploring Cornwall. Both rooms are large, luxurious, and very comfortable. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the bathrooms are lovely too.
The breakfast was enormous and absolutely delicious.
Viv and Iain were the perfect hosts. Friendly, helpful, but never overbearing, nothing was too much trouble for them. We felt as though we were staying with friends. All of their recommendations for places to visit and eat at were spot on too.
We found Tintagel a lovely place to stay - a quaint little Cornish village away from the bigger tourist towns, but close enough to drive to many different places to visit. The location of the B&B and the view over the coast is spectacular.
We will recommend Trenowan to all our friends and we hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sash_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

the trenowan is an idylic place to stay, wouldnt have asked for anything more our room (blue room) was beautiful very large and clean the bed was extreamly comfortable and the views were stunning, the beach is just down the road and there is a nice pub over looking the sea, we went for something to eat and wath the sun set
the breakfast was also very nice and Vivienne and Iain could not do enough for us
would highly recommend the trenowan to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shezzalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I wanted to take my Aunt on a short holiday, and could not have chosen a better place. Vivienne, was warm and friendly from the moment I contacted her, and was even nicer in person. The Gold room lived up to its expectations and the views from the window were breathtaking. Everything had been taken into consideration; from the first welcome, to the little jugs of fresh milk left at our doors for a cup of tea. The breakfasts were fresh, delicious and wholesome.
I would definitely recommend Trenowan to anyone who wants to be pampered. Vivienne made us feel like family and went out of her way to ensure we were comfortable, even dropping us off at some of the villages.
Both Vivienne and Trenowan are a gem. I will most definitely be back.
Thank you Vivienne for making our trip so special!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed at a number of B&B's, and we have not had a more pleasant, spoiled, pampered and wonderful experience than staying at Trenowan. The home was glorious, the views were stunning, the hospitality was top rate, the rooms were airy and welcoming, the breakfast was unbelievable and Viv was a hostess above all hostesses.
We would absolutely recommend the experience to fall in love with the Cornwall coast with Viv's help.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We travelled through Devon and Cornwall on a two month visit to the UK. We have been returning to England for 35 years and have stayed in a variety of accommodation. Trenowan surpassed everywhere including more expensive places. From our first email contact with Viv through to the very warm welcome with freshly baked cake and coffee. The attention to detail was excellent, with generous supplies in the room, toiletries from a local organic herbery, high quality linen and soft towels and the beds so comfortable it was a struggle to get up. But when we did the breakfast was delicious, with Dorset mueslies, fresh fruit salad and local home made jams and free range eggs. Viv and Iain were wonderful hosts, even offering to drive to pick us up from the pub nearby after our evening meal. The house is on a public footpath to the SW coastal path, and there's lots of walking and tourist attractions nearby. We stayed in the Blue Room and had double the space one normally expects. We also had the use of a comfortable sitting room with squishy couches and log fire and plenty of local info and guides. We were offered tea and cake whenever we came back in.........we could have stayed a week rather than the 2 days we had. We were genuinely made to feel like special guests or friends, but after reading this site I realise that everyone felt the same way! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is an absolutely amazing B&B and the hosts, Vivienne and Iain, were very welcoming. I will be recommending it to everyone and looking forward to my next trip back. We stayed in the yellow room (or should I say, suite) which was absolutely huge - amazing views across fields to the sea, the biggest, comfiest bed I've ever slept in (and being 6ft3, it means a lot), huge dressing room through to a lovely en suite. Attention to detail was evident everywhere, from the wedgewood china to the locally sourced soaps. I didn't think it could get any better but breakfast surpassed my expectations. Cereals, fruit salad and a full cooked breakfast with high quality, delicious ingredients. Only a 10 minute walk down to the beach, or a 15 minute walk to Tintagel, this is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing, quiet holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCizek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenowan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenowan

Property: Trenowan
Address: Treknow | Tintagel, Tintagel PL34 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a relaxed and friendly coastal retreat with a touch of indulgence - somewhere where you can take a deep breath and unwind following a day out exploring the Cornish coast and moors, visiting National Trust properties or surfing at nearby Trebarwith Strand then Trenowan, a Victorian house with coastal views and within 300 yards of the coastal path is the B & B for you. A warm welcome with a pot of tea or coffee and homemade cake awaits you here at Trenowan before a visit to Tintagel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trenowan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenowan Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing