We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and welcoming”
Review of Trenowan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trenowan
Ranked #2 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My second visit, we stayed in the Blue Room, very spacious and nicely decorated but also very cosy and comfortable. Very clean, good towels and St Kitts toiletries. The room has views across fields to the sea. Both Viv and Iain gave a very warm welcome and excellent hospitality which was consistently high throughout our stay. They struck a perfect balance between attentiveness and allowing us our privacy. Good english breakfast. My husband and I felt well rested by the time we left. I wouldn't hesitate to return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireameliafawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

house located a bit of the beaten track, don't bring large car! we arrived on the Trebarwith Rd, on narrow country lanes that were a bit hairy at times. lovely, genuinly warm host. large room, sea view, dressing room and nice bathroom with good toiletries. it was a cold day and the room was a bit cold. house is very much lived in, a B&b on a small scale. very personal service. the view are good but not spectacular. the place need a little tlc, especially the front garden and parking. breakfast was good, plenty of it and a nice touch on a serving platter. a very charming lady

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

On our recent summer driving tour of England we stayed at the Trenowan B&B and found it to be a true gem! The rooms are very large and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the "gold" room. Our hostess, Vivienne, welcomed us with afternoon tea in the sitting room. She gave us excellent directions about getting to a very scenic pub which literally hangs on the side of cliffs at the sea. Her full Cornish breakfast was delicious. For fans of "Doc Martin", this B&B is perfect since it is only a short drive to Port Isaac where the series is filmed. Vivienne was a warm, gracious and friendly hostess and we definitely would return to Trenowan.

Room Tip: Ask for the gold or blue room - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Lovely location just ten minutes stroll from the coastal path. Superb hosting by Viv. She is completely accomodating and very friendly. Great value for money too. Beautiful rooms all round, especially the Blue and Linen rooms. Best B&B we have ever been in. Thanks Viv.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

From the moment of our arrival - unexpectedly earlier than stated - Vivienne could not have made us more welcome and we were made to feel that we were special guests invited into a family home. A separate room is set aside for guests to use at any time of the day to either plan the day ahead or simply sit and read or play board games (a selection of both is supplied).

We had the Gold Room that exceeded our expectations with it's glorious views of the surrounding countryside and cliff-tops. The separate, but private bathroom was spacious enough to hold a party! A well-cooked Breakfast started each day with plenty of choice. Both Vivienne and Iain were happy to put themselves out to make our stay as perfect as they could – even loaning walking sticks to help us manage the various rocky paths.

If you are looking for peace and quiet and 'getting away from it all' this is definitely the place to be and we will certainly return should we find ourselves in North Cornwall at any time in the future

Room Tip: The Blue Room has an en-suite but the Gold Room has a private bathroom that was fine for us. 'Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMandPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent our honeymoon at Trenowan in 1968 and stayed there regularly until the then owners retired in 1974. We decided to return after 39 years to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary, having seen the many excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. Although we have fond memories of the "old" Trenowan, and the location is as lovely and unspoiled as before, we were pleased to find it hugely improved inside. We stayed in the well-appointed en-suite Blue Room with a very comfortable bed and about twice the space of the "old" rooms we remembered. The breakfasts were excellent but one of the main delights of our stay was the hosts, Iain and Vivienne. We were greeted on arrival with a cream team and Vivienne later offered to drive us to a favourite restaurant some 5 miles away and pick us up afterwards. She also went to a great deal of trouble, at the behest of our daughters and unknown to us, to get a present to be left in our room to surprise us on the anniversary itself. We felt like we were staying with friends and it will not be long before we return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drofo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a wonderful round trip through South England with our family (two adults ad two daughters) - and Trenowan was by far the highlight! We just can confirm what all guests have written so far: a marvellous site, lovely rooms, excellent breakfast, incredible hospitality and wonderful hosts, and above all: an uniquely charming atmosphere. We are bound and determined to come back (and our only concern is that all the appraisals might reduce our prospects to get a booking ...)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
538 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Avalon
The Avalon
#7 of 24 in Tintagel
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenowan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenowan

Address: Treknow | Tintagel, Tintagel PL34 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: £73 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a relaxed and friendly coastal retreat with a touch of indulgence - somewhere where you can take a deep breath and unwind following a day out exploring the Cornish coast and moors, visiting National Trust properties or surfing at nearby Trebarwith Strand then Trenowan, a Victorian house with coastal views and within 300 yards of the coastal path is the B & B for you. A warm welcome with a pot of tea or coffee and homemade cake awaits you here at Trenowan before a visit to Tintagel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trenowan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenowan Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing