We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Trenowan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trenowan
Ranked #1 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights over a very blustery weekend. Really lovely welcome from Viv and Iain. Beautiful accommodation and nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. Thoughtful touches - fresh milk in room, fairtrade goods, local toiletries etc. We ate at the Mill House Fri night and were offered a lift there/back which we declined but were told by Viv "if you change your mind, just ring us from the bar, they know our number." The next day we spent a blustery day on the cliffs and were back for our cream tea. As a gluten free eater Viv had tried to source me gluten free scones but hadn't managed to - so did gluten free toast and jam instead. We took Viv up on her offer that evening for a lift to/fro the Port William as it was very stormy. No trouble to her at all.

Breakfasts were lovely. Iain had popped out to get us a paper each morning (it was a treat for him to have one too!) and everything was fresh. Viv keen to ensure I was well fed with gluten free goodies and veggie treats.

What is there not to like about this place?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geodruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
147
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a long drive along the Cornwall coast on a chilly, misty, foggy day, Trenowan was an oasis. We were welcomed by Iain, doing double duty in Viv's absence, with tea, biscuits, and wonderful, fun, engaging conversation. The Blue Room truly is spacious and wonderfully equipped. The breakfast was first rate. We were sorry to have been able to stay only one night. and would highly recommend this wonderful place that epitomizes just how special B&Bs can be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovilton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is by far and away the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. You could not fault the attention to detail (although I didn't actually try!!!). We stayed in the Blue Room which was wondrous. Have never slept in such a comfortable bed. Breakfast was super - neither of us are great eaters early morning but the choice was marvellous. Above all, Vivienne and Iain are 2 very lovely people, for whom nothing is too much trouble. We both envied their life style. We shall be there again. And they have a beautiful thatched cottage for self-catering hire about 30 miles up the coast. Looks well worth an enquiry - but leave a week for us next Spring!!!

The toiletries were brilliant - St Kitts Herberry - all available on the net and worth a purchase for Christmas presents - or any other time....

Room Tip: Go for either - equally good - but Blue Room has the edge for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I wanted to write another review following my last review a couple of years ago. This place is brilliant! It deserves nothing less then 5 stars. Breakfast- amazing. Hospitality- amazing. Atmosphere- amazing. I have seen a previous review commenting on the place needing some TLC. This is a home and an old one at that...so I would expect it to look lived in. The room was clean as ever. We were given extra pillows and towels. We love it and feel so comfortable here. We will not stay anywhere else when we are in the area! Brilliant!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJBadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My second visit, we stayed in the Blue Room, very spacious and nicely decorated but also very cosy and comfortable. Very clean, good towels and St Kitts toiletries. The room has views across fields to the sea. Both Viv and Iain gave a very warm welcome and excellent hospitality which was consistently high throughout our stay. They struck a perfect balance between attentiveness and allowing us our privacy. Good english breakfast. My husband and I felt well rested by the time we left. I wouldn't hesitate to return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireameliafawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

house located a bit of the beaten track, don't bring large car! we arrived on the Trebarwith Rd, on narrow country lanes that were a bit hairy at times. lovely, genuinly warm host. large room, sea view, dressing room and nice bathroom with good toiletries. it was a cold day and the room was a bit cold. house is very much lived in, a B&b on a small scale. very personal service. the view are good but not spectacular. the place need a little tlc, especially the front garden and parking. breakfast was good, plenty of it and a nice touch on a serving platter. a very charming lady

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

On our recent summer driving tour of England we stayed at the Trenowan B&B and found it to be a true gem! The rooms are very large and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the "gold" room. Our hostess, Vivienne, welcomed us with afternoon tea in the sitting room. She gave us excellent directions about getting to a very scenic pub which literally hangs on the side of cliffs at the sea. Her full Cornish breakfast was delicious. For fans of "Doc Martin", this B&B is perfect since it is only a short drive to Port Isaac where the series is filmed. Vivienne was a warm, gracious and friendly hostess and we definitely would return to Trenowan.

Room Tip: Ask for the gold or blue room - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenowan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenowan

Property: Trenowan
Address: Treknow | Tintagel, Tintagel PL34 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a relaxed and friendly coastal retreat with a touch of indulgence - somewhere where you can take a deep breath and unwind following a day out exploring the Cornish coast and moors, visiting National Trust properties or surfing at nearby Trebarwith Strand then Trenowan, a Victorian house with coastal views and within 300 yards of the coastal path is the B & B for you. A warm welcome with a pot of tea or coffee and homemade cake awaits you here at Trenowan before a visit to Tintagel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Trenowan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenowan Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing