We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place to celebrate special times:)”
Review of Trenowan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trenowan
Ranked #1 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A special place to celebrate special times:)”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to stay with Viv and Iain and I am already looking forward to the next one! My family treated my mum to a birthday weekend at Treknowan and were all really impressed by the top notch rooms, great hospitality and breathtaking scenery! We cannot recommend it enough! If stunning views, great hosts and a very comfortable bed are high on your agenda then look no further for a B&B near tintagel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pipes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
147
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is the best B and B I have ever had the privilege of frequenting! Viv and Iain are warm, friendly and thoroughly professional. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
We stayed in the Blue Room on a wet and windy weekend. The amenities more than compensated for the weather. Warm log burners and open fires, wonderfully filling cream teas, hearty breakfasts which set you up for the day and bedding to snuggle up in and ignore the whistling wind. Trenowan is perfectly situated for wintry walks along a stunning coastline and is a quick drive from the ferry to Padstow. It really is a little piece of heaven, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

it really is that good!
Might struggle to get to 200 characters as it has all been said. Lovely hosts, beautiful room (Gold), great linen on the bed, huge private bathroom, fluffy bathrobes, amazing history, fabulous breakfast, handy for the coastal path, staggering scenery, the list just goes on & on
Do yourself a favour, when your next in Cornwall stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HankEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many B&Bs before and this is quite simply the best. Viv and Iain are fantastic hosts who were friendly, knowledgeable and only too happy to help accommodate my every need. I stayed in the Gold Room which boasted a generously sized bed, exquisite decor and an absolutely stunning view over the Cornish coast. The house itself has a stunning fire in the front room and a fantastic log burner in the kitchen / diner which makes for a truly warm and cosy feel. I really enjoyed the proximity to the breathtaking shoreline and excellent pub nearby called the Port William. I also explored the surrounding area to find stunning scenery everywhere I looked and in particular the intriguing Tintagel Castle. I wholeheartedly recommend staying here should you ever get the chance. I know have made friends and memories that will last a lifetime and I can't wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pipes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights over a very blustery weekend. Really lovely welcome from Viv and Iain. Beautiful accommodation and nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. Thoughtful touches - fresh milk in room, fairtrade goods, local toiletries etc. We ate at the Mill House Fri night and were offered a lift there/back which we declined but were told by Viv "if you change your mind, just ring us from the bar, they know our number." The next day we spent a blustery day on the cliffs and were back for our cream tea. As a gluten free eater Viv had tried to source me gluten free scones but hadn't managed to - so did gluten free toast and jam instead. We took Viv up on her offer that evening for a lift to/fro the Port William as it was very stormy. No trouble to her at all.

Breakfasts were lovely. Iain had popped out to get us a paper each morning (it was a treat for him to have one too!) and everything was fresh. Viv keen to ensure I was well fed with gluten free goodies and veggie treats.

What is there not to like about this place?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geodruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a long drive along the Cornwall coast on a chilly, misty, foggy day, Trenowan was an oasis. We were welcomed by Iain, doing double duty in Viv's absence, with tea, biscuits, and wonderful, fun, engaging conversation. The Blue Room truly is spacious and wonderfully equipped. The breakfast was first rate. We were sorry to have been able to stay only one night. and would highly recommend this wonderful place that epitomizes just how special B&Bs can be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovilton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is by far and away the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. You could not fault the attention to detail (although I didn't actually try!!!). We stayed in the Blue Room which was wondrous. Have never slept in such a comfortable bed. Breakfast was super - neither of us are great eaters early morning but the choice was marvellous. Above all, Vivienne and Iain are 2 very lovely people, for whom nothing is too much trouble. We both envied their life style. We shall be there again. And they have a beautiful thatched cottage for self-catering hire about 30 miles up the coast. Looks well worth an enquiry - but leave a week for us next Spring!!!

The toiletries were brilliant - St Kitts Herberry - all available on the net and worth a purchase for Christmas presents - or any other time....

Room Tip: Go for either - equally good - but Blue Room has the edge for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenowan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenowan

Property: Trenowan
Address: Treknow | Tintagel, Tintagel PL34 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a relaxed and friendly coastal retreat with a touch of indulgence - somewhere where you can take a deep breath and unwind following a day out exploring the Cornish coast and moors, visiting National Trust properties or surfing at nearby Trebarwith Strand then Trenowan, a Victorian house with coastal views and within 300 yards of the coastal path is the B & B for you. A warm welcome with a pot of tea or coffee and homemade cake awaits you here at Trenowan before a visit to Tintagel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trenowan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenowan Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing