We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place, with a great host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lewis's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great place, with a great host”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We only spent 2 nights in Tintagel but what a delight to stay at Lewis's. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the building full of character, and John is a most obliging host. Then there is a truly memorable breakfast. If back in Tintagel we would certainly wish to stay at Lewis's again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
150
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We hadn't really planned to stay in Tintagel, so this was a bit of a last minute booking - so glad we did. Lewis' more than lived up to the reviews.

John is warm, welcoming and interesting - just like his B and B. John's breakfasts are legendary-we didn't need to eat again till teatime!

A handy place to stay for the village amenities - pubs and shops and an easy walk to the castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This B&B has recently been awarded a Trip Advisor Best B&B - thoroughly deserved. Stayed here for 5 days. As other reviewers have said, there is so much that is excellent about John Lewis's B&B. First class host - helpful, considerate, humorous - a great character. Breakfasts that truly set you up for the day. Such an interesting building inside and out. Great base from which to explore Cornwall. Thank you John for making it such an enjoyable 5 days - Sue and Tony, USA.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1024anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Wow, where to begin? Having read the reviews on this site, we were so hoping not to expect too much and be disappointed, and we weren't! John is a fantastic host, no request too much trouble. We stayed in the Rose room which was lovely and benefitted from a balcony with a seaview, where we enjoyed some lovely evenings relaxing before, and after, sampling the delightful food and drink of some (most!) of Tintagel's Inns. There is so much character in this b&b, a charming, clean, well appointed place to stay, we will never stay anywhere else when in this area. John's breakfasts are lovely, satisfying the largest of appetites, and for those who prefer something lighter, a great choice of fresh fruits etc is available. John is great company, just take his advice if you need to ask and you won't go far wrong, we didn't. Simply the best b&b and host we have had the pleasure of staying with.

Room Tip: Rose room is lovely at back of house with balcony but can't imagine the rooms at the front would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Hello everybody!
We are from the Principality of Liechtenstein and we stayed one night in this amazing Bed and Breakfast! The rooms were spacious and airy with very comfortable beds. They were lovely furnished and you felt immediately at home. The breakfast was very rich and tasty.
The owner was very friendly and obliging. For this reasons, we would definitely recommend this B&B!
Nice Greetings!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenjin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience on our self drive trip around Cornwall. John was both charming and funny. "I don't do small" was his response when my wife asked for a smaller breakfast. The room we had was great and followed the theme of the house, being that it was stuffed with furniture. If I had a criticism it would be the size of the bath towels...probably had more to do with the size of the breakfasts.Tintagel is a wonderful place full of surprises and breathtaking beauty. Lewis's B&B is ideally situated right in town and easy walk to restaurant's and the coast. Our hope is to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our first visit to Lewis B&B, we have stayed in Tintagel many times this being the best place we have stayed by far.The friendliest of places, relaxing,clean comfortable a real home from home.Breakfast was more than enough for even the biggest of appetites and a great selection.John is an excellent host and from now on we know where we will be staying

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.6 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tintagel Arms Hotel
Tintagel Arms Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tintagel
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lewis's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bossiney Road, Tintagel PL34 0AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We re-open in June. Kind Regards John Lewis ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lewis's Bed And Breakfast Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing