We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewis's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lewis's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We couldn't stay in our first choice, B&B since it was already booked. So the lady there recommended that we call Lewis's and we are delighted that we did. Our kind host gave us the tower room, four poster bed, and a cup of tea, with biscuits upon arrival after the harrowing drive from Dartmouth on the narrow roads of Cornwall.

The room was exquisitely furnished and spotless. Small but clean toilet and shower. (Good water pressure in that shower too!)

Mr. Lewis is also an excellent cook as well as host. His breakfasts were very good, eggs cooked to perfection and the choice of breakfast food is wide and tasty.

Room Tip: The tower room, if available is THE room to choose! I spoke to the not so fortunate ones about their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank searoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
138
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stopped over for one night, after a recommendation from our daughter, on our way through to St Ives. The owner John is one of those people who you feel you've known for years immediately. He makes you feel very welcome in his fabulous B&B without ever being 'in your face'. A very quirky house with loads of character and really comfortable. Our bedroom had a balcony with a view out to the sea/channel.. and what a HUGE room. Shame to move on as Tintagel is a great little place. Look out for John's legendary breakfast.. I guarantee you won't eat again until the evening.. and believe me I like to eat. Definitely going to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaveyDaveSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for my 50th.What a quaint little B&B.
We had a very friendly welcome from John. Four poster bedroom. Fantastic breakfast. Best we have had for a long time. Location was perfect...
We would defiantly return & recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

John was once again most welcoming and a very congenial host. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The fresh flowers always a nice touch. Breakfasts was brilliant, one of the best we have ever had, freshly cooked and well presented.

Looking forward to another vist.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

SUMMARY: Private parking facilities, Great breakfast, central location.

Host: John was a top notch host. Friendly and extremely knowledgable.

Rooms: Our room was large and clean. Good bed. Shower was a bit underpowered.

Parking: Space was tight but always available on the private driveway.

Food: Breakfast was extremely good, as you will note from other reviewers!

Location: Right in the centre of Tintagel, but away from the pubs and shops so nice and quiet.

Other: What a fantastic building, circa 16th century if I recall orrectly.

Great place, great host. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveycooper1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights in July.
First impressions were excellent, A very clean and immaculately presented room in and old style vintage house.
John, was the most helpful and friendly host I have ever encountered in my life. Very knowledgeable of the local area and quite simply cooks the best breakfast ever!
Situated right in the heart of Tintagel it was just a short stroll to everything nearby.
Without a doubt the best B&B I have stayed in ever and the only place I would look to stay in if visiting Tintagel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Howen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

You know you're in for a great stay when you are greeted with a warm and genuine welcome . This little guest house is a gem. Quirky in only the most English of ways. If you are visitor to the UK - seriously check this place out. This is England at its best. The guest house is situated right in the heart of Tintagel. So forget the car for a few days and hit the streets of Tintagel. At every corner there is something amazing to discover. Steeped in history this little guest house with its beautiful oak panelled walls, elegant English staircase - takes you back centuries.

The room was very well equipped with all the mod cons, shower perfectly warm, soft fluffy towels.
Lovely freshly laundered sheets and pillowcases. Extremely comfortable bed.

John as a host is terrific - many a guest house owner could take a lesson from him. He has the knack of saying just enough, making things light and leaving you to enjoy your stay. Its a definite art. It should also be noted that he goes out of his way to make sure his guests enjoy their stay. We overheard him giving the tide times to a family with children, so that they could go and see Merlin's Cave in the morning. Nice touch and made those children's trip ever the more enjoyable.

The breakfasts as you'll read from the rest of the reviews are legendary. If you enjoy a good English breakfast you're in for a treat. If you're like me, you like a lighter breakfast, freshly prepared - no problem either.

There isn't anymore to say about this place except - book yourself in and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.6 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#2 of 25 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trenowan
Trenowan
#1 of 25 in Tintagel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lewis's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bossiney Road, Tintagel PL34 0AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We re-open in June. Kind Regards John Lewis ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lewis's Bed And Breakfast Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing