We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best B&B ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lewis's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

That was the best B&B we have ever been to. The atmosphere in the house, thanks to the owner, John, was wonderful. We had comfortable, unique rooms in which one could feel the climate of Cornwall and England, didn't want to leave the place at all. And the breakfast - excellent.
You feel really welcome at Lewis's B&B.
Stayed here twice and would love to come back.
Thanks again! Karolina, Monika and Edward

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We came to tintagel to do some coastal walking and take in the sights and special atmosphere of north Cornwall it was our first stay at lewis' s and it won't be our last john is a wonderful host there when you need him and great to talk to about the local area the accommodation is wonderful downstairs is steeped in history comfortable and clean the room we stayed in was spotless with all our needs catered for even down to cotton wool and a box of tissues on the dressing table ! The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room was well planned out. Breakfast was a real surprise fresh tasty and loads of it again served in a spotless dining area. All in all an excellent experience we will be staying again both as a couple and with our family and we will be recommending Lewis' s to everyone we know !

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Charming and historic b&b, John is a wonderful, friendly and helpful host and especially good with children. We loved the Rose room for my husband, toddler and I, spacious, lovely and nice view out to the sea. Be warned, there is no wifi in this very old house (and no mobile data reception, either) which is inconvenient, but wifi is available pretty much anywhere you eat around town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicoleLlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a 9 hour drive to get to Cornwall, there was nothing quite as wonderful as meeting John and being shown into the very pretty, comfortable and unique room that we were to stay in for the next few nights. The room was spotless, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was happy and friendly. I loved every moment of my stay at Lewis's and we will definitely be going there again! I have already recommended it to everyone I know!

Room Tip: Although we stayed in the Green Room and I loved it, next time I would like to try the Turret Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This bed and breakfast is a special place.

Wonderful rooms (stayed in Turret Room) wonderful breakfasts and wonderful service.

John runs this B & B perfectly, there when you need him and interactive with wit and charm whilst serving breakfasts which are fantastic - cereals, fruits, yogurts and that special full English wow!!!

John pointed out some of the local attractions - coastal walk - Trebarwith Strand, Boscastle, Tintagel Castle, Tintagel Church, The Old Post Office all within walking distance the furthest being 4 miles the closest around 200yds

We also used this as a base and cycled to Boscastle and used the car to get to Padstow and cycled along the camel trail to Wadebridge and onto Wenfordbridge a total of 38 miles there and back

We also visited Port Isaac a short drive away - the home of Doc Martin and Bude a little further up the coast - there is so much to see and do in the area if you just seek it out.

Lewis's bed and breakfast will be hard to beat and John has set his standards extremely high. I could not think of a better place to stay in Cornwall

Room Tip: All room are great but the Turret Room is a bit special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A real find. John is a fantastic host and the breakfast is awesome. Lovely house and quaint rooms. Perfectly located, only a short walk into town. Hope to come back again soon. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kattie400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable old house--gorgeous & full of character. John was so lovely & charming. We had a small double room but view to the water & in the heart of Tintagel which is gorgeous. Right next door to a small shop & launderette. Delicious breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Salunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon
The Avalon
#9 of 24 in Tintagel
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trenowan
Trenowan
#2 of 24 in Tintagel
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bossiney Road, Tintagel PL34 0AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We re-open in June. Kind Regards John Lewis ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lewis's Bed And Breakfast Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing