We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$365.16*
and up
Private, Full-Day Tour to Port Isaac, Padstow, and Tintagel from Cornwall
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician. New exhibition explores the stories linking Tintagel to King Arthur which includes a 3D model of the site illustrating how it has changed over the centuries. Dog friendly and child friendly, this is a great day out for all the family.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

didn't know how i'd cope with steps and heights as not good on either but all was ok. went in fine weather but would have been apprehensive in bad. fantastic views. stayed for about 3 hours, including merlin's cave. would go again. very atmospheric.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,514
    764
    233
    68
    29
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

we took a detour off the A30 on our way to holiday near Land's End to take in this ancient castle. The approach roads are typical of this bit of England - narrow, high hedges with passing places, not sure how the coaches get through! The village has a mix of seaside style tat shops and posher clothes and craft shops. There is quite a walk to the castle but you can take a landrover taxi. There is then a hike up the hill/steps up to the natural rock platform with the few remaining bits of castle. The attraction for me was more about the geography and the views and got a great photo of a kestrel hovering. There is a quite large English Heritage shop and a cafe serving the best cream tea I had in 2wks in Cornwall and some very well presented light lunches.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Another beautiful Day in England:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Tintagel Castle is located on the west coast of Devon/ Cornwall. It's a 2 hour drive from Plymouth or Exeter and it's quite a nice ride. You can drive there through Dartmoor or more sureley on its southern fringe. Tavistock is a nice place to vacation as well and I am sure the Hound of the Baskerville's won't be far away....ughh Tintagel is an old castle but there is not much left except the beautiful vistas from the top. If you close your eyes, you may be able to visualize what it looked like when it was erected. The small community offers a few eateries and souvenir shops and a picture by the Old Post office is Worth too. It's a great day out for those who do not mind cliffs, uphill and dowhill walks etc....Just be careful, it can be windy and slippery! Nice place. We went there in April 2012.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pascalpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,455 reviews
1,375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,280 helpful votes
“Magical,atmospheric place where whispers of Arthurian legends mingle with the mist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Despite its famous links with legendary King Arthur, there is a neglected feel about this site. Its a pity, because quite a part from its historic associations, Tintagel Castle has one of the world's most beautiful coastlines with unrivalled views across the Atlantic.
The ruins date back to the 13th-century with substantial castle ruins on the cliff edge with the remains of a medieval monastery on the adjoining island accessed by a short bridge. Its a magical place, on a bright Summer's day or in Autumn when the mists roll in, atmospherically off the sea.
We can blame Lord Tennyson for fuelling our over-weaned enthusiasm for Arthurian legends with his poem the Idyll of the King which describes Merlin on the beach below the island.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Scenery and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Returning to Tintagel after 30 years it was as beautiful as I remembered it. Breathtaking views in every direction. To get the most out of the day allow 3hrs and be prepared for a lot of walking and steep steps - but it's worth it. Go down to the beach to Merlin's cave, up onto the island and to the headland opposite. Talk to the staff, they are both friendly and knowledgeable.

After a very disappointing experience at Stonehenge I was pleasantly astounded with the Cafe. Not only friendly staff but a good, fresh selection including a good range of gluten and dairy free options. My ploughman's platter of 3 Cornish cheeses and a lovely fresh crusty bread roll was superb.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing