We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and lovely family and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bossiney House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I just wanted to post this feedback having seen some of the negative stuff that has been left about this hotel!

In October 2010, we took over the whole hotel for our wedding for 3 days. We brought our closest family and friends and filled the place to the last room. All who stayed, said they had an absolutely lovely time and commented on the friendliness of the staff and generosity of the breakfast!

The owners and staff went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome (including friends who came to visit us at the hotel and weren't even staying there) and the odd small issues which arose, were dealt with in a prompt and friendly manor.

The food was good -especially breakfast and the Wedding Breakfast. The children were safe to wander around and play together, and were made a fuss of by the staff. We were able to bring dogs, which were welcomed by staff and Angus the Wolfhound alike.

There are undoubtedly parts of the hotel which are newer than others, and you do have to accept that Angus is very much part of the furniture, but this is a small family run hotel, and when we go to stay, we feel comfortable and at home.

It may not be the cheapest place to stay, but it is very reasonably priced considering it is clean, friendly, relaxed and welcoming - these are qualities you simply cannot put a price on -especially when it comes to taking kids away on holiday!

It saddens me to think people have not had the same warm and friendly experience that we all did, but I do question what people are looking for.

All I can say on behalf of 50 of my family and friends is that Bossiney House is a warm, welcoming family style hotel which may not be slick and seamless, but more than makes up for that by feeling like a home from home and I look forward to going back there again - very soon! :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bossiney House Hotel with 16 other friends for 3 nights in order to do some
walking and generally relaxing.
The location is excellent, just outside Tintagel town but with excellent sea views from many of the rooms.
We stayed in Room 10, and whilst not huge, it had everything we wanted and the ensuite was very new.
The food was excellent, the owners and staff were wonderful and could not do too much for you.
We used the indoor swimming pool and this was a welcome extra after long coastal walks.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlymouthSpeedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in this very pleasant family run hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting the area. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean, well furnished and spacious enough. Very comfortable bed! We only had one dinner at the restaurant and that was quite good too, though definitely not cheap for what you get. We arrived late on our first night and they were kind enough to keep the restaurant open for us, which was priceless as we wouldn't have been able to eat anywhere else at that time. The tv's in built dvd player did not work and the staff were kind enough to provide us with an external one (though unfortunately there wasn't enough space to plug it in!).
Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The staff are extremely lovely and helpful, though it is obviously a family run hotel which can mean it's a little rough around the edges with a gorgeous but massive and malting dog and lots of children (though they may be visiting rather than living in). The rooms were clean and basic with a nice view of the sea and the breakfast was very good and filling. However, the shower was a real test of initiative - how to get it the right temperature, how to turn it off, the bed was very squeaky and the walls were very thin... we could hear the children jumping and bumping above us and doors slamming from early on in the morning! It's a 5-10 minute stroll into Tintagel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibertytripS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We would like to say a big thank you to Mary,Michael and James ,for their great company,hospitalty and kindness during our stay. We loved and enjoyed our stay in Bossiney House Hotel .Great location,pristine rooms and fantastic food..Recommend it for everyone.All our best wishes..Sebnem and Jack

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had booked a 2 night break at the hotel for our Ruby wedding to explore the area and had a brilliant time, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food was excellent, we enjoyed ourselves so much we booked an extra night. The added bonus was the weather which considering it was January was great, we did lots of beautiful coastal walks and even walked from Tintagel to Port Isaac which was an experience to say the least, needless to say we got the bus back. We look forward to staying again in the future. Once again thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Everything about this hotel was first class, the room, the staff , the location and the price.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner and other staff who quickly made us welcome and we were shown to our room (no 4). The room was clean tidy and had a lovely sea view. We needed to get some petrol and some cash and were told where we could get these and advised where NOT to get petrol (due to cost). The breakfast was far better than most seaside hotels and nothing seemed to much trouble for the staff.
we will be staying here again later in the year........ thanks to all who made this break VERY SPECIAL. dave and pauline

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
4.3 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bossiney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bossiney House Hotel

Address: Bossiney Road, Tintagel PL34 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range: £89 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bossiney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 20 rooms, bar, Cedar Tree Restaurant, ample off-road parking, WiFi and free internet access, all set in over an acre if gardens. We are ideally located for short getaways and longer breaks, anyone looking to explore Cornwall's many delights. With our facilities we can cater for couples, families, individuals and business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bossiney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bossiney Hotel Tintagel
Bossiney House Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing