We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! Very welcoming staff and owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bossiney House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We all had a lovely time at Bossiney House Hotel. The owners and staff were extremely accommodating and we had a very relaxing stay. The kids loved the nearby beach. The room we stayed in was ideal for families with a duplex room area for the kids which linked into our own so they had their own space. The breakfast time was great and we all ate well. We all thoroughly enjoyed the mini golf course in the garden.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2010

Coming from Zimbabwe for a break and having booked 5 nights as the internet advertisement was good and promising the arrival turned out opposite. Swimming pool not functional, Sauna as well, big garden with ocean view turns out as a middle size of lawn far away from the ocean (some blue glimbse on the horizon). Owner (?) Mr Mike rude and impatient on the request why pool and sauna are not working : " we are low budget hotel and you can not expect having all working " . Room size 12 sqm and matraces very worn out .... unfortune that the tourism board allows those people to operate "!

Afterwards been complimented out and we needed to find a new accomodation, which we found in the nearby Camelot Castle Hotel which is a secret gem at that place !.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Clemens V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, and although it was nothing very fancy, we think it offers great value for money.

Positive sides to this hotel are, in our opinion:
- very good price
- large room with large bed
- friendly, helpful staff
- great breakfast (the best we had in five different hotels): crispy bacon, real fresh fruit, good coffee, scrambled eggs the way they should be

On the downside though:
- We though the central hall / lobby (not the room) had a funny smell
- Although friendly, they have a huge dog that 'welcomes' you when you enter the hotel; for people who dislike dogs, like ourselves, this is not appreciated
- The bed, although very large, was also very soft; my wife thought it was fairly good, I thought it was terrible
- The bathroom in our room was quite outdated en had a carpet on the floor; not very hygienious in our opinion

Conclusion: this hotel offers great value for money if you're looking for a decent room of good size and a good breakfast for a very reasonable price. In our opinion it was one of the better rooms in our round-trip through Cornwall and Devon, while it was by far the cheapest.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody-XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

The moment you step over the threshold of this hotel and smell the delightful flowers in the hallway you feel at home. My husband and I, together with another couple, stayed here last week and experienced service which couldn't be bettered. The food in the restaurant was excellent,.Our rooms were very well equipped and the beds were really comfortable. There was a a cute little area outside the bedrooms with table and chairs where you could sit in the sunshine, weather permitting! We spent quite a bit of time in the bright, bar lounge which overlooks the garden. We did not make use of the pool etc. as sadly two of our party had become unwell during our walking holiday in Cornwall before we reached Tintagel. But we enjoyed our stay in this hotel very much and recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoolsOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I returned to this hotel after a year. The beds were still comfortable; the food was excellent (they only use fresh local produce as far as possible); the huge dog was still there and the owners and staff were friendly and welcoming. Why the extra 'blob'? The downstairs gents toilet was working, it was not last time. (There is also a new ladies and disabled toilet on the ground floor.)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bossiney House - it was full of charm and we had a warm friendly greeting on arrival and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. I also must comment on 'Angus the Dog' - a lovely friendly character.
The hotel is ideally positioned for exploring the coast and we did a walk to Port Isaac which included a stop at Trebarwith Strand (a must particularly at sunset - there is also a lovely pub there)!
I must make one negative comment and I hate to say it but the food wasn't great on the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adisgruntledcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after reading the reviews on here and we were not disappointed. We received a friendly welcome from the owners and their lovely, enormous dog Angus! Our room was clean and comfortable with a bath and white fluffy towels. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. We didn't eat in the restauraurant in the evening choosing to walk into Tintagel itself (about a 15 minute walk).
The hotel is well positioned, close to the coastal path and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsbels1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bossiney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bossiney House Hotel

Address: Bossiney Road, Tintagel PL34 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range: £90 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bossiney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 20 rooms, bar, Cedar Tree Restaurant, ample off-road parking, WiFi and free internet access, all set in over an acre if gardens. We are ideally located for short getaways and longer breaks, anyone looking to explore Cornwall's many delights. With our facilities we can cater for couples, families, individuals and business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bossiney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bossiney Hotel Tintagel
Bossiney House Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing