We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place”
Review of Bluff Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluff Centre
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Bluff. We are a party of three; 2 adults and an 11 year old. Previously we have stayed in a room with the private bathroom right across the narrow hall. This time we had a shower en suite but not such a panoramic view.

The rooms themselves are very stylish with modern light oak furniture and crisp blue and white linens and decor with beautiful art work all around. The standard of cleanliness is very high and the rooms have everything you need; a tea/coffee making, a small TV and, essential for us, a small desk for the laptop using the free wireless connection (stronger connection in upstairs lounge) . We were a little cramped this time as we had 3 full-sized suitcases but, even then, still managed.

Beyond the lovely bedrooms there are relaxing communal areas. There is a family room downstairs with extensive library, comfy seating, and games if the weather is poor. Upstairs there is another lounge with beautiful artwork and fireplace. Even in the dining room (all light oak and tres chic) there is more comfy seating and a telescope which gives you a prime view of the beach at Trebarwith Strand. (No need to drive to the beach just walk down the coastal path for 15 minutes.) Nearly the entire side of the property facing the sea is glazed to maximise the wonderful views.

Breakfast is very good. The usuals are on the menu like the good old British breakfast as well as some other choices of eggs Benedict, original recipe muslie and kippers. All jams and marmalades are home-made and the chef catered for my gluten-free diet. I believe that evening meals can be ordered.

The real asset to this place is the owners, Charlie and Marianne, and their staff. They are very welcoming. They really have thought about everything from having a store of beach equipment like surf boards to providing fragrant shower gel which is locally made at the herbery.

We have done a lot of travelling both as a couple and as a family but this is one of our favourite places worldwide. We want to stay somewhere which welcomes our child but is still stylish. This is it!

Room Tip: If you want en suite choose "Wagtails", "Fulmers" provides a better dual aspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a beautiful place! As soon as I arrived, after a tiring day's walking, I was warmly welcomed by Charlie and Marianne and offered refreshments.

As another reviewer has mentioned, neither the brochure nor the website really do it justice. The location is just priceless with a view over the bay and the interior is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with all the amenities one could wish for.

The weather was wonderful when I was there so I spent little time inside. However, I saw the extremely spacious and comfortable lounge and library where one could very happily spend time if the weather was inclement.

Breakfast was abundant and of an extremely high quality. (I must recommend the muesli.) The English breakfast was cooked to perfection, while there were local preserves, yoghurts, fresh fruit, toast and a range of other foods to choose from. Service was friendly and efficient.

I had pre-ordered an evening meal for my arrival and noticed the very reasonable price so, to be honest, I wasn't expecting anything special. How wrong I was! The quality and presentation of the home cooking was truly wonderful.

Both Marianne and Charlie were always ready to chat and advise. For a nominal sum, they will take you to, or pick you up from, various locations - an excellent service if you are on a walking holiday, as I was. Charlie took me to Boscastle, from where I walked back to The Bluff Centre along the coastal path, a truly amazing walk.

All in all, a perfect place and I can't recommend it highly enough. My only regret is that I was unable to stay longer, although I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were in Cornwall for a long weekend to celebrate a wedding and we chose the Bluff Centre purely because it was close to the venue for the evening function and had availability.

The pictures on the website looked good, but in no way do it justice. The Bluff Centre is spacious, airy, and has huge picture windows on the upstairs level that look out to sea. There's a telescope available to watch comings and goings on an island a mile or so offshore.

We had a family room, with a double and single bed - superbly decorated and with loads of room. The bathroom isn't en-suite - it was just over the corridor - but each room has its own bathroom.

The building is on 3 levels but, as the building is located on a hillside, you enter on the second level. The owners live upstairs and there is another level downstairs with a large sitting room, complete with a library, loads of board games, Lego, and other items to keep you amused.

The decoration in the Bluff Centre is great - loads of artworks and interesting ornamentation that really give the place character.

There's also quite a lot of outdoor space, including a terraced sun deck that is accessed via a staircase down the hillside.

Breakfast was substantial and of good quality. We didn't have an evening meal but what we saw of the ones other people had looked lovely.

And finally, the owners and staff - they were exceptionally genuine and friendly - full of hints and tips as to where to go, and ready to lend torches so that you could navigate safely in the dark from the local pub.

One little watchword - the Bluff Centre is at the top of a steep hillside, and the local amenities are all a downhill walk away, so be prepared to expend some energy if you decide to walk to the pub and back as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shizzling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Amazing view over cliffs and surfing beach as you dine - morning and evening. Rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed. It was a little tricky to find down a pot-hole filled road but the hosts directions beforehand were more than adequate. Hosts were friendly and most helpful in guiding our day trips for our three day stay in Cornwall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clydebank5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We returned for our 3rd stay at the Bluff centre and it was as wonderful as ever. The location is amazing with beautiful views across the coast line and sea. The room was clean and comfortable. Food was great - we enjoyed super cooked breakfasts and a great evening meal. We will definitely be returning-one of our favourite places in the UK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We only had an overnight stay at this hotel but I can't rate it highly enough. Every detail is perfect. There is a beautiful lounge, dinning room and library/games room. The views are spectacular. Our bedroom was large and although the private bathroom was across the corridor, bathrobes were provided along with towels. Everything was spotlessly clean. We took the car down to eat at Trebarwith. Although it is walkable, we didn't fancy a steep walk in the dark. (even though torches are available). Based on the delicious breakfast it might have been a better option to request an evening meal at The Bluff. We were given a very warm welcome by the owners Charlie and Marianne and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyfamilySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great time. Rooms were beautiful. Food was excellent -especially breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
1.5 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill House Inn
The Mill House Inn
#1 of 1 in Trebarwith
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Penallick B & B
The Penallick B & B
#11 of 24 in Tintagel
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Centre

Address: Treknow, Tintagel PL34 0EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Tintagel
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bluff Centre Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing