We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views, Highly Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Highly Enjoyable”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The views are absolutely magnificent and I would stay for those alone! The staff are very helpful and work hard to make you feel welcome which we always appreciated. The food was of a very good standard and satisfying.

The room was very clean (which is a must), decor pleasant, prefer a slightly bigger bathroom but it didn't bother us. We had a great night's sleep and felt really refreshed the next day.

I loved the way 'art' pervades this place, it really adds to the whole experience. The price is very reasonable for what you get.

Next time we visit Cornwall which I hope will be soon, we'll be sure to come here again.

Perfect for my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    332
    165
    153
    171
See reviews for
229
722
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A lot of hysteria on here about the background of the owners. Even a quick online search would warn you of the eccentric atmosphere of the place. This was our second stay, but we knew well before our first that this was no normal hotel. We're not scientologists, or religious at all, come to that. Sure, scientology seems to comprise of some weird, wonderful, and potentially dangerous ideas. But then beliieving in a prophet who was born of a virgin mother, who could multiply food by magic, and came back from the dead, is hardly rational in my eyes. And not-to-be-named religions that forbid the use of contraception, and so quicken the spread of HIV are just as dangerous as anything scientology teaches, surely? Anyhoo, the hotel. We love it here. Sure, some of the carpets and fittings are a little tired, and there are draughts. The "loo pods" are rather uncomfortable. But the views, the grand entrance hall, the comfortable beds and the warm welcome we've had from staff mean we will be coming back for a third time. Nobody tried to convert us to any belief system, or sell us any art. Our only interactions with Ted Stourton were brief and pleasant. We thought the weird, "acquired taste" art and the unashamed self-promotion of the owners just adds to the eccentric atmosphere of the place, and just enhanced our experience. It was just an interest factor for us. The reception staff are very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful, and service and food at breakfast was also very good. We'd recommend this place to anyone who's prepared to try something a little different, and for whom the total weirdness of the Camelot Castle Hotel would be an attraction, not a turnoff.

Room Tip: Room 108 is a "Moor View" room (i.e. a cheaper one) but has a wonderful balcony with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbobscroggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed at Camelot Castle for two nights, 18 - 20 Feb 2013. Husband was on business, so myself and our black Lab tagged along! When we first arrived I was in awe of the size of the hotel, and it was lovely to see such outstanding scenery. Once inside we were greeted by Irina, who was gracious and informative. It was an absolute joy to see the inside too. Almost like stepping back in time, even to the elevator which had the sliding door that had to be closed to make it work! Shame not all patrons read the notice and did so! We were shown to our room, and to say that this is the most pet friendly hotel we have ever stayed in is putting it mildly! We have taken our dog to Spain and France, and although she has stayed at many hotels, this has to be the best! Our room was a little worn and tired, the furniture was too, but the bed was so comfortable! We also had one of the pod style bathrooms which really do not go with the unique and quirky hotel, but it was sufficient, we had plenty of hot water, it was very clean, and better than sharing a bathroom with others! Having been on the website before going to the hotel, it was made very obvious that this was a pet friendly hotel, so I am surprised at people on here complaining about dogs and the barking and smell! If you knew it was pet friendly and this was a problem, you should have perhaps gone to another hotel? There are certainly plenty in the area! The view from our room was of the sea, and it was breathtaking. The breakfast was outstanding, we were served quickly and the food was piping hot. The same could be said of dinner. We also had a cream tea on one of the afternoons and the scones just melted in our mouths. The staff were very well presented, so very polite at all times, and all of them could not do enough for you. At dinner the owners came round to check that all was ok and that we had everything we needed and whatever nationality the staff were they had an exceptional command of English, and all of the staff worked extremely hard to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. It was also lovely to be able to go and sit in the lounge area and have my dog with me, and not have to leave her in the room all the time. She certainly enjoyed sitting by the fire after a lovely walk along the cliff, while I enjoyed the exquisite coffee they served! Also in the entrance area there is a piano for anyone to use, a chess board and several other little quirky items, but I won't spoil all the surprises for you! I found the hotel to be just as it stated in it's advertising, and great value for money. I will definitely be tagging along again when hubby is back in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, it is absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

this is a lovely hotel a victorian dream the staff are are very helpfull and will do all they can to help you we stayed with our gsd and would recomend this as the best pet stop in cornwall i am living with cancer but the peace and views made me very happy well done camelot
god willing i will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just returned from 2 night's stay at Camelot Castle Hotel and we LOVED it! We are a quiet family of 4 with a 20 year old and 11 year old and this was my 50th Birthday treat (although the staff wouldn't know this as I don't like fuss). We had excellent rooms on the 3rd floor with just the most amazing sea and headland views. The rooms had lovely spacious beautifully fitted large en-suite bathrooms. The decor in the downstairs great hall (open fires in majestic fireplaces), bar and restaurant is lovely and full of character. We loved looking at Ted's artwork all round the hotel, and we loved meeting this wonderful polite friendly, gentle-man who has a genuine interest in human beings. The other thing I really liked is how genuinely friendly, happy and 'real' the staff were. The restaurant is excellent, food delicious, starched linen table cloths (that is a pet-favourite of mine), beautiful panoramic views. This is no face-less anonimous MDF travel-lodge, this is more than a hotel, it has character, genuinely friendly staff, and for perceptive open-minded people, offers an 'experience' to remember. A little message to Ted, would you consider splitting the light (crystals into rainbows) in the lightbox and exploring the effects on canvas/texture/colour? We will be back.......

Room Tip: ask for a sea-view, rooms 305 and 307 have beautiful views and bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Hotel staff - friendly overseas staff
Room - (sea view) by standing by the window - very tired dated furniture - too hot even with radiator off, as hot pipes running through the room - needed the window open - only able to open one as the other was sealed by paint - dog hairs on the carpet (we did not have a dog) dogs barking in another room, smell of wet dogs - on suite 'POD' made of plastic and very small and out of character
Food - very good
Service - evening excellent - breakfast very poor as staff not aware of who needed to order etc
General -Too much modern art everywhere - very strange

Room Tip: lots of good alternative accomodation in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt this place is quirky ..... So if you're looking for a travel lodge experience , don't go . If we had read the reviews on this site we probably would have cancelled our booking . We are however , discerning , responsible adults who can accept that not everyone , even hoteliers , sometimes aren't average joes ..... So onto the subject of the owners : yes they are 3 interesting characters with strong beliefs . ( At no point during our stay did any religious leanings get mentioned by them ) The resident artist is just that , someone passionate about art and not too ashamed to sell pieces to anyone who wants to buy . He's probably paying his bills like the rest of us , even though the trio would like you to believe that they are far too rich and famous to need the money . They are also passionate about self promotion and publicity ie in house newspaper , cd and photographs of them with celebrity "friends of " ... and thats the bit that guests may find unusual because its rarely seen on such a scale . The hotel is a little tired , but with lots if not all of its original features . Really lovely . It seems they are trying hard to up date it : some rooms have well appointed , fully fitted modern bathrooms and ..... Some don't . The ones that don't have quite dated but seemingly adequate en suites that are similar to those found on cruise ships ( referred to as "showers only " ) Who knows why and when they were fitted. , but we suggest to you when booking you specify your wishes . The staff , for us , were totally accommodating and delightful . Food was fantastic . Prices reasonable . Location ... Simply perfect . Definitely unlike anywhere we have stayed before and that's perhaps down to the innocence and " heart on sleeve "
Transparency of the people running it . We would return .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCWb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
118 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Property: Camelot Castle Hotel
Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing