We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelot Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for 3 days from the11th june lovely setting and impressive reception rooms downstairs, the ensuite facilities in the room let down the rest of the hotel. It was more of a pod inside the room rather than a shower room. The restaurant was good although the menu did not change much each night. Overall a good stay but bathroom facilities ned updating

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    304
    145
    130
    145
See reviews for
201
649
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

stayed here on 23/24th may to attend a wedding nearby.
on arrival not impressed with appearance of accommodation outdated and in desperate need of repair. path outside was full of cigarette ends. apartment was musty and damp.tiles in kitchen were broken.Blinds in bedrooms were broken and needed replacing - television very small and high on wall in kitchen so very uncomfortable to watch. listed as 3 bedroom accommodation but not made clear there is no lounge - nowhere to sit and relax! no heating so was very cold and damp and walls were literally dripping! There were black marks on the back of the door where the mould had been scrubbed off! when we spoke to manager was exceptionally rude and arrogant he told us we could go somewhere else if we wanted and that we were getting a bargain! and afterall we had wonderful views!!- As we were waiting for another couple to arrive and we had our two dogs with us and it was a bank holiday - we felt we had no alternative but to stick it out! No real shower just attachment on bath taps. No proper electric vent in toilet or bathroom - (not sure if this is a regulatory requirement?) Whole place reminded me of one of the "60 minute makeover" tv programs! would i recommend - NO!

Room Tip: this was a self catering apartment 40m away from actual hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Brigette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tintagel hotels

Warrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting overlooking the sea and the views are amazing, with Tintagel castle a short walk away.
I am a vegetarian and even though there was only one vegetarian option, the food was always delicious. The bar was a bit pricey, but with a selection of pubs in Tintagel Village this wasn't a problem.
The hotel itself was lovely, and the only thing I can really fault is the bathroom, as it felt like being on an aeroplane with no room to even turn around.
All in all though a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked a week beginning of May this year 2014 and we were looking forward to the break, When we arrived we were shown to our room which was a historic room with four poster bed and the views were wonderful, shame we could not say the same for the room. The room was advertised as an en suite but the so called shower room and toilet facilities was a pod like structure and quite small, the room itself was large and dual aspect however we could not open a window as they were all sealed but we could open the balcony door and stand on a covered concrete balcony that was crumbling and peeling with a table and chairs that was covered in seagull poo and was rather disgusting, the room had not been cleaned properly the dust was like thick felt on top of the pod structure the wardrobe and the top of the four poster bed, the under side of the table was also thick with dust, we complained about the bathroom and dust and asked to be moved but they did not have anything available but assured us that they would get the room cleaned the next day. When we came back from our day out the room was not cleaned after complaining again the receptionist said she forgot to tell the cleaner and they will deep clean the following day again this was not done except for under the table. We decided not to stay any longer and checked out. We knew that the hotel was old and may have needed updating but we did not expect to sleep in a dirty room, they should also explain the bathroom situation, sorry but we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask what type of bathroom there is in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
44 Thank Gill892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My Wife and I stayed at Camelot Castle Hotel for 3 nights at end of May, we had stayed there previously but that was 8 years ago and much has changed.
To start with, the bedrooms have now got a cubicle installed in one corner that at first glance you would assume to be a bathroom but when you open the door it is a moulded plastic all in-one bathroom that you would expect to find in a small, budget caravan or a canal boat.
There isn't room to swing a cat or even to shake a towel in it, after using the toilet you have to reverse yourself out as there is no room to turn around and heaven help anyone who is a little overweight as it would be a complete nightmare.
The rooms very shabby dusty and NOT shabby chic with small signs on the windows to inform of which one opens.
When we returned to our room after it had been made up we found that the used towels had simply been thrown onto the bed (unfolded) in a heap rather than re hung on the towel rail.
Shame about the room as the view was second to none, overlooking the old castle ruins and the sea.
The restaurant buffet breakfast was wonderful and beautifully cooked quality ingredients however the staff fumbled around with their faces looking miserable and trying to get their attention was almost impossible so we had to wait until breakfast was almost over before you could get a coffee or tea.
Could not fault the food but please sort the staff out.
The bar area was very quiet on the first 2 nights but again the barman looked as miserable as sin.
The Beck's Vier was reasonably priced at about £3.75 for a pint but for a pint of Lefe at £5.80 was a little steep. Never mind. I am sure that if they stocked on their pumps some more popular beers rather than Lefe and Hoogarten then they may get more bar custom as it is a lovely area to sit and have a chat or to read a book.

One of the Hotels owners 'Ted' often popped up and had a little chat, he is a very charming man and he has his art on display all over the building.

The Hotel is in great location with ample parking and free wi-fi, there is a nice atmosphere about the place but the staff really do need a few strokes of Ted's brush to paint a smile on their faces.
When staying at the Hotel it does make you feel that you are in a stately home albeit a bit of a scruffy one, the toilets situated just behind the lobby are absolutely dreadful, flaking paint, mould and tatty old wall tiles reminiscent of a 1960s pub.

The one redeeming quality is in the Manager named Agata who is very charming and efficient.

I would stay at the Camelot Castle Hotel again but only if they sort out the room/bathroom issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the kitchen as there are lots of aromas of food in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a fantastic time we had. Helpful staff, great food, lovely ambience and stunning scenery. What more could anyone want. A haunting place to experience. Thank you to all at Camelot.

Rachel and Patx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Camelot was a dream come true. We did not expect an "Americanized" hotel. Our room had a gorgeous view, the bedding was immaculate, the dining room gorgeous, the staff was professional. The cook made delicious food, served like the English. I highly recommend it! In addition, the art work displayed by artist, Ted, was so beautiful we bought several for a keepsake memory of our experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.7 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Property: Camelot Castle Hotel
Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing