We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mixed review!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The positives: reception staff
excellent and showed us the hotel on arrival:restaurant staff fantastic very helpful and informative, pleasant and nothing too much trouble.
Main areas lovely and relaxing and great views;
Position: fabulous views and walks around, also within walking distance of tintagel village:
Food: good food but if you are paying outside of package rate I would say rather expensive.
Not so good: we are in room 302 feels damp, smell, not particularly clean; duvet put on inside out!: shabby; shower and
Toilet clean so that's a positive!
Sea view well just about see it unless you open the window and stick your head out! Don't stay in room 302. Carpets in hotel badly worn:
Like other reviews lots of artist work around hotel!
I would not want to stay in this room or similar not sure what the others are like though!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mallardavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    322
    153
    137
    150
See reviews for
211
679
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was a surprise stay for mine and my now husbands mini moon. After finding out where our surprise stay was from my family we looked the place up immediately on the internet to find out more information. The website looks good and we looked at some of the photos published. When we arrived driving down the hill our immediate thoughts were WOW. However on entering the building we were highly disappointed. We started to wonder when we started to see one of the owners photos with the stars all over the walls. On walking through the hotel we were showed what was called "art", my 10 year old daughter would be disappointed to put her name to it.

Our concerns were raised further when we were accompanied to the aged lift, we were told where our room was, which would not have been out of place with a 70's bed and breakfast! I knew my family had spent a considerable amount of money on our stay and I immediately contacted them to make sure we had the right place. We were told we had a deluxe double, I'm not sure in what era this would have been considered deluxe!

The next morning we arose expecting a good breakfast, this was not the case. We received dish water tea, cold burnt toast from a cheap sliced loaf, the bacon anaemic and half cooked frozen sausages, after being told all was locally sourced. Having experienced breakfast we did not hold too much hope for what lunch or dinner could be like and avoided the restaurant as a result.

We spent the minimum amount of time as we could in the hotel enjoying the cornish country side and local produce from local towns. On checking out of the hotel we raised our concerns with the duty manager and it washed off of him like water off a ducks back, there was no apology or disappointment from him about the fact the we did not enjoy our stay. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank Lydia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tintagel hotels

Bilpin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It was the perfect place to stay in on that part of the Cornish Coast. Uninterupted rugged beauty of the English coastline. The hotel is under going refurbishment and should make all the difference as our room looked tired and badly needed redecorating. It will be spectacular then. Mind you it didn't worry us as the beds were the most comfortable I have ever experienced. The room was large with each of the three windows took in the most stunning views. It would be a good place to go anytime of the year. One of the owmers is an extremely well known artist with many of his paintings on view all over te hotel. Unpretentious and most helpful staff. Dining room with that wonderful view and very impressive.It gave you an insight to what it must have felt like to live in a castle. Ideal location to visit Doc Martin's terriotory, Eden poject, and Bodmin Moor.

Room Tip: Ocean view and if one can afford go for the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthaBilpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After coming to the castle for my daughters 21st birthday, 15 of us plus three dogs! We were made so welcome by all members of staff, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were happy to help. We had breakfast and evening meals there which were excellent. The chef even made my daughter a fantastic birthday cake! The staff were willing to accommodate to all of our requirements (we have a very fussy eater). I cannot recommend this hotel enough and we can't wait to book again for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As others have noted, views from this hotel are superb, but otherwise it wasn't worth the money... and we booked on via an on-line discount site so paid much less than the posted rack rate. Beds were comfortable enough, but one shower unit leaked badly and there were dirty coffee cups in one room. WiFi was iffy; breakfast and a lunch unremarkable when compared to many nearby restaurants. The place is jam-packed with paintings by one Ted Staunton who claims himself to be the greatest artist since Monet, right up there with Picasso. He isn't. We'd suggest staying elsewhere, but dropping in for a drink to see the common rooms and see the 'art' for yourself.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
23 Thank FredDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you want to get away from the "normal" I would highly recommend a short stay at Camelot Castle. The staff are very friendly, the room we stayed in had magnificent views and was appropriately furnished for an old castle!

Our stay although short was something we will always remember and family and friends have enjoyed hearing about it and hope to return there some time in the future.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have stayed at Camelot before and, yet again, I wasn't disappointed! I have been captivated by Tintagel and Arthurian legend since childhood and Camelot is an inspired place to stay to capture the romance and to suspend one's disbelief for a few days. Our room was stunning with breathtaking views across the sea. The staff were very welcoming and I truly felt at home within Camelot's beautiful and enchanting walls. The service was first class and all of our needs were catered for. I was accompanied by a friend who had never visited before and he was in awe of the place, totally captivated by the fabulous location and sheer beauty and magic of the whole Camelot experience! We are home now feeling revitalised and refreshed. Thank you - we will definitely be back sooner, rather than later!

Room Tip: If you ask for a sea view or castle view room, the staff are very keen to accommodate requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Property: Camelot Castle Hotel
Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing