We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“70th Birthday Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelot Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“70th Birthday Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

My husband and I spent my 70th birthday at Camelot Castle Hotel. When we arrived Agata (the very pleasant and efficient lady in reception) escorted us around the lounge, dining area and bar and then gave us the key to our room.
WOW. Room 102, a very large room with kingsize bed and two single beds, overlooking the cliffs and sea. First impressions very spacious but dated and tired. However the bed was so comfortable and everything so clean. We were informed that a refurbishment programme was in progress, we can't wait for them to get to room 102 to spruce it up. During the evenings we witnessed the most amazing sunsets over the sea. We would ask for a couple of armchairs in the bedroom to enjoy and relax watching the sunsets.
One problem was the "bathroom pod" for use of better words. The wash hand basin and toilet were more than adequate, but the shower??? A circular base approx. 2'6" in diameter with a curtain across was not big enough for anyone of my proportions (15 stone approx.). But please remember "you do not spend long in the shower" when you are on holiday.
We met the owners of the hotel Irina and John Mappin and Ted Stourton (artist). They were all very pleasant and asked if we were being looked after. Yes we were very happy. Irina seems a very caring person and even sent me a birthday card from the "crew".
Food - breakfast was very good and comprehensive choice, but the cooked food (bacon, eggs etc.) needed to be kept warmer. Dinner excellent (see Irina's Restaurant).
All "crew" members were so pleasant and helpful and made our stay such a memorable celebration.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view on the third floor which we had been told was refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    304
    145
    129
    145
See reviews for
201
647
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
240 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

What could be more beautiful than those wind-swept cliffs and sea below? Truly magnificent. However, the castle and its adjacent apartments are lacking. We ate at the castle and slept at the apartment--which was essentially a kitchen and bedrooms, no sitting area/couch, or laundry/shower/dishwasher. There is a creepy Russian New Age artist vibe going on at the castle that weirded us out--if you read their "newspaper" they hand out to the guests you'll see why. I would stay in the same area but a different place next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I can't imagine a more beautiful place to stay. The hotel, character, staff professionalism is a 10+ in my book. Planning a fall reception to enjoy the majestic views and opulence for a second time. Absolutely spectacular.

Room Tip: I can't imagine any choice would be poor... just ask reception for advice for your budget. Pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The general condition of this hotel is well below what you would expect. The rooms and hallways are dirty and in need of restoration. The service is terrible, having booked 2 nights stay we decided we would like to leave after the first night. However, we were told we would be charged for the second night anyway. When I tried to explain the reasons I wished to leave the staff just laughed at what I said. Apparently the customer is not always right. If you book this hotel you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
39 Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tintagel hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

as we drove down the main road towards tintagel it was a truely amazing sight then simply put amazing location amazing castle amzing staff meet and greet the owners which was a fantastic touch!! all staff was 10/10 of anything they could to help!!! the out side looks as good as the inside will def be back and again after that. the views are stunning towards the atlantic ocean and also King Arthurs birth place. i cant say much more apart from if you dont belive me email me need a tyre@hotmail.co.uk and ill tell you again!! the resturant was simply camolotazing food to make anybody want more and more and very good prices excpet i bought a bottle crystal @250 the waitress (sarah) was shaking pooring it. just vist this place asap!!!!!!!!!!!! look forward to our return and next time i am driving that bentley !!! ppplease jim/ mum jackie

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank needatyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for the night last week whilst walking a section of the SW Coast Path. The building dominates Tintagel in somewhat Colditz-esque fashion - you can see it from miles off and fair to say it wouldn't get planning permission these days! Staff were perfectly polite but the whole place feels like the set for a real-life version of Cluedo! Victorian gothic furnishings juxtaposed with the kind of D-list 'celeb' photos you find in Costa del Sol bars and some terrible examples of contemporary art, apparently created by one of the co-owners. Upstairs felt more like a rural boarding school with lots of long, rather spooky corridors. Our room itself was pleasant enough although the 'bathroom' was actually one of the those all-in-one 'wet rooms' you might find on a cross-Channel ferry. We didn't eat so can't comment on the food although the dining room looked quite regal. The whole place had a rather eerie atmosphere, though, even by Tintagel standards. Certainly a memorable if rather surreal experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Camelot with our two dogs, after years of just having lunch and coffees (which are a must!). We decided to extend this year’s holiday to include a couple of nights stay at this hotel. We where more than happy with our stay. It’s an old building, but still has lots of character and charm, but it is the views and walks that make it a show case for Tintagel. The staff where wonderful. Sarah in the restaurant. Will in the bar (the boys say thank for the bowls of water) and front desk, Agata, for the warm welcome. Thank you again for looking after all four of us. We will be back later in the year.

To the owners you have very luck to own such a gem of building. Wish you well with the refurbishment.

Thanks you again. Karen, Adam, Jasper and Baker

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.7 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Property: Camelot Castle Hotel
Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing