We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My Husband and I had a very nice meal here whilst staying near Tintagel. The views are amazing, the food was delicious and the staff friendly.
Would recommend it even if you don't fancy anything to eat the sunsets are amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WendyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from a weekend at The Port William...stunning location,friendly and attentive staff.All 8 en-suite rooms have fantastic views of the sea/beach and it's a joy to draw back the curtains in the morning and take in the stunning vista,even a storm is a joy to watch from the window seat in your room.The room was decorated well in neutral shades and the furniture complimented that,however,the room was very hot which meant the window had to remain open during the night (hubby found the sea too noisy,I slept through ),the cold water tap above the sink only ran warm so had to run the tap over the bath for cold water.A very comfortable bed and sufficient pillows and towels supplied.
We ate there the first evening we arrived and found the food of a good standard,some dishes seemed expensive,but the quality is good.Breakfast again very good,with sufficient choice to cater for everyone,the service was always very quick and professional but also friendly .It obviously has a good reputation for food as Saturday evening was very busy,this didn't seem to mean the service suffered.
Overall,we had a great weekend and will surely return to this beautiful part of Cornwall..a fairly well hidden gem !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed early June 2014. BEDROOM - Beautiful scenery is what you are paying for here. The hotel was nice and decorated lovely, but the room was so hot. No through draft lead us and other guests to have a poor nights sleep. When we tried to get cold water from the bathroom tap it was at the same temperature as the hot. The underfloor heating and towel rails being on enhanced the humid room conditions (window wide open). The beds are very comfortable though. FOOD - The lunch order was incorrect, the reserved table for dinner was not taken properly (3 times lucky), and then I was served part of the order (sides missing). Do not order white wine - its was not even chilled - no ice for the ice buckets. Breakfast in the morning was also incorrectly taken, but nice. I would return for passing "lite bite" lunch only. The speed of service was good but it would appear that no-one reconciles the order to the menu taken? However the food itself was good quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We eat here often and have written positive reviews from good experiences - however recent Sunday lunch was disappointing it wasn't busy and we had an indoor table with usual "stunning views" but the roast pork was at best luke warm. Don't like to complain but did mention to server - overall meal was tasty but cold - hopefully a one off!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After looking at reviews on here we decided to have lunch here en route to our stay in St Ives. The location is stunning, weather wasn't great and I imagine sitting here on a sunny afternoon/eve would be bliss. The hot chocolate and cappuccinos were very well presented and very welcome after a 5 hour drive. We had 3 lunches and although the fillings were good I have to comment on the bread used, my daughters blt had the most basic of breads and my crab & lobster roll was in a bap not expected for the price. I would have preferred a bloomer for the sandwich and a focaccia or rustique style roll with the crab & lobster. I hope this is welcome feedback as this aside we would thoroughly recommend the Port William.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ClairePaulLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We (family of 2 adults, 1 child) stayed at The Port William Inn on our way home from Sennen Cove. So pleased we stayed here, what an amazing place! We changed our booking to here from our reservation at Tintagel Castle, after reading other reviews and were definitely not disappointed, quite the opposite. We found a car park space in the pub car par - just! The car park does get very busy and we saw many cars driving backwards and forwards waiting for someone to leave - but it was Bank Holiday weekend and probably a bit busier than normal. Check In was smooth and friendly. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean, lovely bathroom/shower. The bed was comfy and large - once the sofa bed was made up for our son you did have to hop across the main bed to get to the bathroom, but that was not a problem - we were more pleased that we could have a room for 3 and the sofa bed could be squeezed in. We ate in the pub at night. The bar was very busy but were still served quickly and most efficiently. We had just stayed in a St Austell Brewery pub in Sennen Cove so could directly compare the food - which is from the same menu. Whilst not being overly impressed with Sennen Cove Pub Food and we were expecting the same, we were very, very pleased at what we had. The Specials board gave a varied and interesting choice. We ate from the main menu and our meals were very well presented and delicious. When our food arrived my husband asked the waitress if she could bring us a bottle of wine from the bar, to save us queuing and she happily agreed ! We were served much more quickly this way too! I cannot wait to go back here and our son is already asking to go back to the beach. Thank you Port William Inn, well done and thanks to your team of Chefs, Kitchen Staff, Bar Staff and everyone who works there for a very, very enjoyable stay and lovely food :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatherinenStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Two of us called in for late lunch and both had delicious and generous crab sandwiches. They came with a small salad and a small dish of crisps. The staff were friendly and helpful. The view over Trebarwith Strand is superb!!!!! There is a car park to use, we didn't realise before hand, but walking from the Trebarwith car parks is hardly a problem. They're accepting and happy with dog's. But...at £9.50 each....they need to be great! That said...we'd happily go back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DizzyandTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,370 reviews
21 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
554 reviews
21.5 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#15 of 97 in St Austell
318 reviews
10.5 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: £85 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing