We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blissful night by the sea”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“blissful night by the sea”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped here by chance and had a wonderful stay. The staff were relaxed and welcoming. Room was spotless. Food was well cooked and presented. When we booked in, they accidentally showed us a room that had already been booked out to someone else. They immediately offered us a different room at a reduced price with no quibbling. We slept to the sound of the sea and looked down from our room over the beautiful cornish cove - blissful. There is a cliff footpath to Tintagel.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms. i dont know if they all have sea views but 2 and 4 definitely do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    171
    79
    38
    21
See reviews for
165
317
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stunning location perched above the rocks and beach at Trebarwith Strand.
Second time we have visited the Port William fortunately this time we timed it right to see the sunset. Meal was great with a good selection on menu plus half a dozen specials (although gutted the Pork and Rattler pie was not on it this time!) Deserts delicious although portion was so big even I struggled to finish it. Service was excellent (Order at bar style of Restaurant)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beany41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Amazing views, spent some time sat outside with a drink before we ate,really nice atmosphere,food was excellent and at a good price. Staff were very helpful,room was spotlessly clean,Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzy6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, excellent views, awesome service and fabulous food.

Three of us dined here and cannot fault. Weather was nice so we took up a table outside overlooking beach.

Menu had an ample selection and was well priced. Service was faultless. I ordered the mixed grill, it was without doubt the nicest mixed grill I've ever had. The other diners had a steak and and a lasagne I think. They were very pleased with theirs as well.

Will defiantly return. The inside was very nice and when winter comes would be an excellent bolt hole. Sitting by the fire watching the waves crashing in.

A little tip. As you drive in, drive past the pub around 200 meters. You will see a lovely small secluded beach down the rocks when the tide is in.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skram86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This pub is set in a stunning location.
My wife and I had a couple of meals and they were fantastic.
The second visit was during an all day visit to Trebarwith Beach with the grandchildren who enjoyed their lunch here too before returning to the beach to play.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JukeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My Mom and I stayed her June 10th 2014. The view is outstanding! The food is delicious and the staff are not only well trained but also friendly. The room was well decorated, clean, but small. However it had a great window and you can hear the waves all night long. Once the tide goes out there is a wonderful beach. I wish we had stayed a week!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princetown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Food and service here very good ,beautiful setting over looking the sea ,they also have rooms here so seriously thinking of booking a couple of rooms for our friends and ourselves ,what better to wake up over looking the sea.well done all we will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
118 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
179 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Property: Port William Inn
Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing