We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay - thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wootons Country Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed for one night in the honeymoon suite as a birthday surprise for my partner and we both really enjoyed it. Very welcoming, relaxing, friendly and the food was excellent. my only gripe was that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at this delightful hotel for a couple of nights to celebrate my birthday. The landlord (Ian) was very welcoming and, when we arrived on Sunday afternoon the bar was quite busy. It's a popular hang-out for the locals too - which is always a good sign that it's a good pub.

Our room was lovely with the unexpected bonus of a fabulous view. The housekeeping is of an exceptionally high standard, and the spacious en-suite bathroom was very clean with a powerful Mira shower. You can really appreciate how much effort the owners put in to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The only unfortunate negative was the sound insulation between the bedrooms isn't very good (the pitfalls of an old conversion), so we could hear our neighbours' conversations and visits to the loo quite clearly. Unfortunately there is very little that can be done about it. It's not a major problem though, it just means you need to be mindful that your neighbours can probably hear you too, and just take some earplugs with you if you're a light sleeper.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and chatting with the owners in the bar on Sunday evening made us feel very much at home. A really nice hotel, run by friendly people, in a great location that is convenient for all the local attractions, walks, shops, restaurants etc. It also has the added bonus of a large private car park and lovely views.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedusaAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We have just spent 2 nights staying at this B&B pub/hotel for my birthday and it was very enjoyable. The room we had was nice and roomy with plenty of room so you are not tripping over each other, and the en-suite was very modern and very clean. The couple running it are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and the scenic view whilst eating breakfast is spectacular. This hotel is well placed for exploring Tintagel village and the Castle by foot and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very roomy with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_a42006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel is both welcoming and friendly. Any query is handled with a professional approach and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The location is superb. Good value for money. Ihave been more than happy to stay on a number of occassions and have never had any reason to complain. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deryck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Ate here once during our regular week in Tintagel - did not return. Slow service.
I had the cod and chips.
You would think, being a few hundred yards from the sea, it would be fresh.
Not so,Half greasy batter, half fossilized 'fish'. Probably freshly caught in the freezer........
It brought back memories of a 'turkey kebab' I had here a few years ago - much like the turkey twizzler.....
Try the Cornishman, or the chippy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Service was slow, meal was barely adequate, not an experience I shall be repeating anytime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pambie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We live locally and on 6th April 2012 had a meal at Wootons - the chips were awful and had clearly been re-fried. We were told they were home made and were fried twice once for a few minutes then again (!). On leaving I took plates to bar & again mentioned chips another member staff said they should be alright as they are cooked from frozen! This is the first review I have ever written thats how bad the meal was.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sally218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
498 reviews
9.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wootons Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wootons Country Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Tintagel PL34 0DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range: £38 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn with modern en-suite accommodation, free parking, restaurant, and many other facilities, close by King Arthur's Castle and the local beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Wootons Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wootons Country Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing