We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, Clean, good location and facilities”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tintagel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Westy76
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely, Clean, good location and facilities”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Accommodation was very clean, with good facilities (full kitchen , lounge etc). All linen and towels provided. Nice touch with providing some basic coffee / tea / milk sachets to get us started :)

Easy to find (without having to negotiate narrow roads!) and easy walking distance to Tintagel including castle, pubs, cafes shops (including 2 small supermarkets). Good offroad parking.

Only improvements i would suggest would maybe be wifi (to make it easier to find out about/book local attractions), and/or cable/satellite for the tv. The terrestrial signal is a bit weak so only allowed a few channels to be seen if staying in due to wet weather.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Hi
Thank you for your kind review,thought about wifi which we are considering although we have had quite a few guests that have welcome not having the signal and having a rest from this technology while on holiday ,many pubs and restaurants in Tintagel have wifi though
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
162rams
1 review
“Beautiful quiet place within walking distance to the main road in Tintagel”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If you are looking for a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of cities then this is the place to stay.

The Old Barn is off a drive and near the owners which is helpful if you have questions but they also leave you alone too.

The Old Barn has all the amenities that you need for a self catering break. We mostly ate out and only made breakfast one morning. They even had brown sauce for our bacon sandwiches, bonus! Bed linen, towels and kitchen essentials are provided too.

In the lounge, the owners provided books, dvds and videos as well as a few board games and dominoes, which was great as after a days walking the coastal path we stayed in playing the games and chilling.

Please note this place does not have wifi or a garden which I was aware of before booking.
Having no wifi helped made me switch off to be honest.

Tintagel is a only a 10-15 minute walk away which provides a good few pubs and tea/coffee shops. There is an Italian restaurant too if you get bored of the pub grub.

Thank you Richard for providing a beautiful place.
Highly recommend this place if you want timeout and excellent location for the coastal walks nearby.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you Ram for taking the time to review our property your kind appraisal of the Old Bran is much appreciated ,it was a pleasure meeting you and to have you stay at the Old Barn.

Kind regards

Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen p
2 reviews
“A lovely stay in tintagel”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A lovely cottage, clean and homely.
Location excellent for walking onto the cliff path and Tintagel.
Thank you
We would love to return sometime.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you Helen for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close it was to the town
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind review,this is much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the trouble in kindly reviewing our property
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richie S
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked this fabulous two bedroom cottage at the last minute and were very impressed with its character and location. It is exceedingly clean, tidy and perfect for a self catering small family or couple. Located not far from Tintagel Castle, the town and the amazing St Nectans Glen we were never far from the main high street either so we shopping for food was never a problem.
We will definitely be coming back to stay here and we have already recommended it to friends. Thank you Richard & Anna for providing such an immaculate little gem in the West country for people to stay

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you Richie for taking the time to show your appreciation in a Tripadvisor review of our Holiday accommodation
You would be most welcome to stay again at" The Old Barn"
Kind regards
Richard & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge area its lovely and cosy
Liked least: The bathroom, the shower wasnt great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review of the Old Barn and nice comments ,reviews are always much appreciated ,We will certainly have a look at the shower which you have brought to our attention in the review we were unaware of any problem as it has not been mentioned to us from other guests that have stayed,being an electric shower they can fluctuate in temperature especially when cold rising main supply feeding Kitchen sink is used at the same time ,unlike a shower plumbed off a hot water supply,with mixer control this would give a constant temperature . ,the shower rose is cleaned/changed regularly but will check this also.
Again it was a pleasure having you staying and leaving the place in great condition at the end of your vacation

Best regards

Richard & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.