We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality? I Must Of Missed It!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Malthouse Inn
Ranked #14 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hospitality? I Must Of Missed It!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Called in for a pint as we were staying in Tintagel. Wished I hadn't, Only one ale on tap. A sign behind the bar stated that all drinks must be consumed seated! What's all that about, after a day of driving I wanted to stand at the bar, have a pint and a chat. We could do neither.
The bar staff served us then went out the back to talk to the kitchen staff, we were left with the dying embers of the fire in the wood burner sat on a 1980's sofa in a bar watched only by the security camera pointed at us?! I felt really welcome!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ourlifeinacaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    11
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend this b and b I've stayed for a number of years and every year I never want to leave the food is lovely and reasonably priced for the area and the service from the staff is amazing and they will bend over backwards to help

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have stayed here on three occasions as it's value for money with lots of character: cosy, warm, low ceilings and central. Friendly staff, good hearty breakfasts, outside seating area and free parking behind (in a tight car park). Okay, the rooms are not the best: small, cramped, very little storage with uncomfortable lumpy beds, but if you look past the obvious hitches, the old decor, creaking sloping floors, and sticking rattling doors all add to the olde worlde charm.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I could not recommend this place. Only that we arrived late, 8.30pm, we would not have spent one night there. We would have forfeited our booking fee if we had somewhere else to go. The dampness was dreadful. The paper was lifting off the wall. The mouldy smell was overwhelming. There was no light. When the landlady brought a bulb, it lit briefly and went out. A second attempt was more successful and she provided a heater but it sizzled. The wardrobe and WC were very small. Our complaints were not well addressed. We did not think the website gave an accurate picture. Intending to stay for 5 nights, we stayed only 1. Breakfast was satisfactory, the only plus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myrkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,058 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Called in one lunchtime. Good little pub. Good selection of Cornish ales and good fresh food. Small and cosy and on main road. Popular with the tourists like myself. But just what you need. A good pint and good pub grub. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was the most expensive bar meal that My partner and I have ever had:
1 x pickled onion
1 x indescrible pickle
1 x bread roll
1 x piece of tomato
3 x lettuce leaves
1 x piece of cheese (cheddar)

Total cost £9.50 each.

We could have bought it all from the Londis shop and had change! Don't be ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradgatebullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a lovely bright spacious room, which was spotlessly clean. The ensuite was also a decent size for the three of us. Although there was room for a wardrobe we had hang our clothes on a coat hook stand. A great english breakfast in the morning if you want it, plus cereal and toast. My partner had smoked haddock which he said was very tasty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.4 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#2 of 24 in Tintagel
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tintagel Arms Hotel
Tintagel Arms Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tintagel
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordon House B & B
Gordon House B & B
#7 of 24 in Tintagel
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Malthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Malthouse Inn

Property: Ye Olde Malthouse Inn
Address: Fore Street, Tintagel PL34 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Malthouse Inn in Tintagel, Cornwall is a 14th-century pub and bed & breakfast establishment offering accommodation, an old country pub atmosphere, local ales and a buffet restaurant service. The Olde Malthouse Inn changed hands in May 2014 and has undergone extensive refurbishment throughout. We reopened in the last week of July 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Malthouse Inn Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing