We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Understand Any of Previous Complaints”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Malthouse Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and had a very relaxing, comfortable time.
The staff were friendly and accomodating.
We enjoyed a delicious meal that (bearing in mind that my wife loves French quisine) was of top quality and very much to our taste. We had a bottle of wine and finished with Irish Coffees and the bill was very reasonable.
We enjoyed the historical character and charm of this charismatic inn which is in keeping with the history of Tintagel.
You need soul to appreciate this inn. If you don't have soul you should book somewhere clinical and plastic.
Breakfast is cooked to order, with best quality produce, and arrives piping hot. Delicious!
We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roncheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2009

I was treated to a Valentines meal here. The a la carte type menu had a great choice on it. The food was lovely, as was the wine. The staff made you feel welcome and were very helpful. The Inn is warm and cosy and seeped in atmosphere. Their normal menu looks good to, will definately go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornwallAngel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

A really lovely inn the staff were brilliant, food, beer and wine list were all excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and cosy just watch your head if you are on the tall side!
Christine and her staff made us very welcome, we did not want for anything, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waverider1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Nothing in this hotel appears to have been touched or cleaned since the 1970s. It's really dirty, the decor is largely plastic and garish, the doors slam, the whole place smells of damp and the manageress is rude. We were shown a room which stank of smoke and asked to change to another, which was better, except for a mouldy bathroom and sagging mattress.
At dinner (the food was perfectly good and the staff were nice), the wine was corked. When we politely sent the bottle back, the manageress stormed into the dining room and harangued us in front of all her other customers, accusing us of deliberately sending back the wine to annoy her. When we explained that the bottle was corked, she asked if we took her for an idiot. She refused to open another bottle and insisted we buy wine by the glass, which we did, as we felt sorry for her. I'd be amazed if this place stays open much longer.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessiethehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank 103yvonnee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,367 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mill House Inn
The Mill House Inn
#1 of 1 in Trebarwith
344 reviews
0 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
645 reviews
0 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Malthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Malthouse Inn

Address: Fore Street, Tintagel PL34 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Malthouse Inn in Tintagel, Cornwall is a 14th-century pub and bed & breakfast establishment offering accommodation, an old country pub atmosphere, local ales and a buffet restaurant service. The Olde Malthouse Inn changed hands in May 2014 and has undergone extensive refurbishment throughout. We reopened in the last week of July 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Malthouse Inn Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing