We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage in a Great Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of One Fern Cottages

One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range
Kitchen
Cottage Kitchen
Kitchen- Oven & Hob
Beamed & Vaulted Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom- dressing area with views
Second bedroom
Dining Room- wooden floors and beams
Dining Room, with Stable door
The spacious dinning room
Bathroom
Bathroom- monsoon shower and bath
Downstairs toilet
Patio seated area
Second patio seated area
Parking space
Nearby Cartmel....a great place for a day trip
A Tarn near Coniston
A Lakeland Beck at Grasmere
Cartmel Racecourse- less than 3 miles away
The waterfall/beck running through Lindale
Victorian Range and log burning stove.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davierigg
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in a Great Place”
Reviewed 28 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We rented this cottage for a week to see family and friends who live in the area, we found it to be a charming, well equipped and spotlessly clean cottage, which exceeded our expectations and demands. The situation of the cottage, in Lindale, is very good, quiet at night but in easy reach of the lakes and lancashire, the price was perfect, the equipment was top notch and the free wifi and added bonus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen was great and the shower in the bathroom
Liked least: parking space, plenty of room for one car but not for two
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judita
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

My husband, myself & 2 friends rented this cottage for 3 nights. It is beautiful. Exactly as the photos show. When we arrived it was spotless. The kitchen is out of this world, newly fitted & everything you could want, even dishwasher tablets & washing up liquid, cling film & foil. These are things you usually need but always forget. All there waiting for you as well as a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, sugar & biscuits.
The 2 bedrooms were spacious & the bathroom was excellent.
Lots of quirky corners & lovely beams. Books, DVD's and games are available for your use.
There is a downstairs toilet & a utility room.
It is everything that you could want for a short (or even longer) break. The owner Vicky was very helpful & sent exact directions & lots of tips about the cottage.
Easy access to all the lake district has to offer.
This cottage is absolutely gorgeous set in a very quiet village and I would recommend it to anybody looking for accommodation in the lakes.
I look forward to going again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen.
Liked least: Nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are thrilled you had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FGUB
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy comfy cottage”
Reviewed 2 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We spent a lovely five days at One Fern Cottages in June 2011. The cottage has a lovely airy atmosphere and is comfortably fitted in a contemporary style while preserving many original features (great fireplace and beamed ceilings!). The owners warned us in advance that the old property may not be suitable for the young children (7 months and 2 1/2 years) in our group, but we really didn't find it any problem for them at all. In many ways this was a great rental for families with kids - there is a little open play area in a park at the back of the cottage, tons of nearby things to do which will appeal to the kids (I particularly recommend Fell Foot park, with ducks that can be coaxed to eat breadcrumbs out of their hands, a brilliant play area, a cafe that will help you prepare formula feeds and for the sheer nearby beauty).

Lovely place, well equipped and well located. We have already recommended it to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and pleased you had a lovely time. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theramsde...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, clean, private - my dream home”
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We had a winter weekend break at this stunning cottage with our 3 children aged from 4 to 9 years. Our first impressions were jaw- dropping. The cottage was warm and inviting even on a wet and cold Friday evening as we arrived. Plenty of spce to store wet boots and coats away from the living space of the cottage. Fully equiped kitchen from oven, microwave and fridge freezer down to spatulas and serving dishes.The living room was delight as we sat around the cosy wood burner and played games with the children. I even got time to read a magazine as the children amused themselves and the dishwasher took care of the washing up.
Saturday was spent walking into Grange with a coffee stop on the way The Netherwood Hotel. Plenty to do in Grange with shops, train station, park etc. Saturday night we had a short drive to The Punchbowl at Crossthwaite for fabulous food and atmosphere.
Sunday was a trip to the park at the back of the cottage before having to say Goodbye to One Fern Cottages- but we will definitately be back as we want to sit in the garden and bbq in the sun soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2011
Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are delighted you and your family had such a wonderful time. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing