We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent quirky cottage full of character”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of One Fern Cottages

One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range
Kitchen
Cottage Kitchen
Kitchen- Oven & Hob
Beamed & Vaulted Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom- dressing area with views
Second bedroom
Dining Room- wooden floors and beams
Dining Room, with Stable door
The spacious dinning room
Bathroom
Bathroom- monsoon shower and bath
Downstairs toilet
Patio seated area
Second patio seated area
Parking space
Nearby Cartmel....a great place for a day trip
A Tarn near Coniston
A Lakeland Beck at Grasmere
Cartmel Racecourse- less than 3 miles away
The waterfall/beck running through Lindale
Victorian Range and log burning stove.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YanS715
1 review
“Excellent quirky cottage full of character”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is lovely abd the service, cleanliness and facilities offered was outstanding.

My 3 young kids all under 5 loved it. The bed room set up was great couldnt ask for more.

Set in a quite village but lots of things to do in the surrounding area.

I would strongly recommend this place to anyone thinking of going to the lakes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that both you and the children enjoyed your stay. Happy children always make for a happy holiday!!

We do hope you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9Gabby
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet, quaint retreat.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The whole experience at One Fern Cottages was excellent. It has plenty of character and offered everything we needed in terms of comfort. It seems that all needs have been anticipated and taken into account in terms of the facilities provided. The cottage is very clean and well-equipped. Inside, it was very cool and offered a welcome respite from the high temperatures outside. The location is peaceful and the locals are very friendly. The cottage is well situated: close to local amenities in nearby Grange-Over-Sands and a comfortable drive to the Lakes or the coast. The owners maintained excellent communication throughout. A small plumbing problem which occurred during our stay was rectified in under 24 hours and caused little inconvenience. I'd gladly recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent facilities; cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased your stay was enjoyable. We try to ensure that the cottage is equipped as a home from home and that the whole experience is one that we would expect if we were booking a holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowan W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, clean and charming”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in One Fern Cottages during the May Day bank holiday weekend for a four night stay. Not the nicest weather all weekend, but the comfort of the house meant that this wasn't a problem. The outside seating area and garden is great and kept pristinely - getting the sun throughout most of the day. The lounge is equipped with a couple of comfy sofas and an amazing Victorian fire place, which kept us warm on a couple of cold nights (the owners, very kindly, supply kindling and logs). The kitchen was modern yet charming, and packed full of very useful amenities that I wish I had in my kitchen at home! The toilets were lovely and spotless - with the upstairs one equipped with a huge bath and a good shower.

The beds were very comfortable and we slept well all weekend. the village itself is quiet, but the pub up the road offers good food and drink if you need a bit of people invoked atmosphere.

I honestly cannot think of a bad thing to say about this cottage. Everything about it was pretty much perfect. Thank you to the owners for everything that you offered - I highly recommend this place to anyone reading!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased you had a wonderful stay…we are just sorry that we couldn't fix the weather for you!
Vicky and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: high standards maintained throughout the whole experience
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Thank you for your comments Paul. We are really pleased that you had another great stay at the Cottage and hope to welcome you back again soon. Vicky & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ale190793
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Booking the cottage couldn't have been easier and was totally hassle free. I was kept updated about the progress right up until we got there. The safety deposit takes up to 14 days to return, and I received an email the day after leaving to let me know it would be refunded within 7 days. So you are still kept up to date with all the goings on after you have left. I was grateful for the email updates as it was my first time booking something like this and I'm a born worrier!
When we got to the cottage the key safe was very easy to use. Inside was completely spotless. I couldn't complain even to be picky! It was sparkling. Everything you could need was available, essentials, appliances and extra blankets. Even the things you'd most likely forget (salt and pepper/gravy granules).
We both had a lovely sleep without any complaints. The room goes into total darkness thanks to the skylights blinds. The car can be seen from inside the cottage whilst parked up and it was easy to get into.
There was a welcome pack full of things to know, things to see, places to go. Everything you could possibly think of was covered in it. The neighbours were also very nice and polite, actually, so were all the people we spoke to.
The Lindale Inn was closed for refurbishments until Easter 2014 but we luckily had The Royal Oak about a 200 metre walk away. A torch is an absolute must as this hill has no lighting whatsoever, We had thought to pack a torch but it wasn't necessary as the cottage had many to use (and they actually fit in my bag, unlike the one my boyfriend packed). The post office is a five minute walk around the block and they stock most items.
Grange-over-sands is literally a 5-10 minute drive and there is plenty of parking (good prices too). I enjoyed walking around here and they have a co-op for any last minute shopping. We also travelled to Bowness-on-Windermere. This was by far my favourite day out as there was so much to see and do. However it was nice to retreat back to Lindale for some peace and quiet in a gorgeous cottage. The log fire was my favourite part, at the post office they sell kindle (£5) and logs (£5) in big bags. This gave us two good fires. We tried calling Brian but found the number to be incorrect and Richard answered at first, then we lost signal. When we phoned back, he had turned his phone off for the rest of the day. We didn't bother trying them again.
One thing we did miss was instructions on how to use the heating. With it being winter it was baltic. Say if we wernt wanting the fire on (say before going out on an evening) the spare bed blanket was a must. But it didn't ruin the cottage as it was just as cozy snuggling on the settee but it would have been nice to warm it up.

I couldn't have been any happier with the cottage and would like to thank the owners for our stay, ensuring a cosy, warm, welcome. Would definitly recommend this for a quiet escape from real life!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere the cottage offered (and the log fire!)
Liked least: The lack of instructions regarding heating.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage and trips around the area.
Thanks for pointing out about the logs and the heating. We will check the company we use for the logs and make sure their number hasn't changed recently.
The heating is normally left on permanently in the winter and controlled via the thermostat. We will check the instruction booklet, as there should be one in the Cottage, but sometimes this does get moved.
We really appreciate the time and effort that goes into making a review and hope to welcome you back to One Fern Cottages in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell54...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We found the cottage to have everything needed and more. A lovely place to stay and was very cosy and comfortable. The beds were so comfy too. Did not get the opportunity to light up the fire as out most of the days but it would certainly add to the whole atmosphere of the property. Being tall, had to learn quickly with regards to some of the low beams though!!! Many thanks to Vicky and her colleagues for their prompt and helpful attention to our booking and will certainly be staying at the property again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable and busy stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon...the fire is a wonderful feature and hopefully you'll get the chance to sit and relax next time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeAndMunk...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family breakaway”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had such a lovely stay here, My parents came over from Canada and enjeyed every minute of there stay. Lovely cottage and great location.
the sticky toffee pudding in Cartmel is a MUST!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge house, garden, location
Liked least: stair case
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thanks for your comments. I could not agree more...the sticky toffee pudding is a must!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing