We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for a reunion”
Castle Hill House Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway Rear of House and Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway
Rear of House and Garden
Kitchen
Spiral Staircase
Spiral Staircase Landing
Spiral Staircase Cupola
Dining Room seating 28
Kitchen
Lounge
Central Staircase
First Floor Landing
Bedroom
Typical Bathroom/En-suite
Bedroom
Entrance Hallway
View of Castle from Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
laura8522
Wetherby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect house for a reunion”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a fantastic weekend her recently for a school reunion. The house is huge and everything is of a very high standard. Beautiful big kitchen, lovely spacious garden and pristine bedrooms, most of which have en-suite. Will definitely have to book this place again in another ten years! Would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: The dining room was a little bit bland and corporate which didn't really fit with the rest of the house.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raylene A
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning house perfect venue for a big doo”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I booked castle Hill for my husbands 40th birthday with friends and family. It was perfect. The house can accommodate 28 people and it did comfortably there was loads of room . The hallway is amazing was the perfect setting for a cocktail party. The whole house is beautiful loads of original features such as the dome and glass ceiling over the middle of the house and stunning stain glass window. Bedrooms are really spacious most with wall to ceiling marble ensuites. We had an added bonus of the snow which made the setting even more amazing. All overlooking Tutbury castle ruins which provided a great backdrop for sledging with the kids. Will we be going back again? Definitely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2013
I am pleased you all loved the house. We look forward to welcoming you back. Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and tasteful decorated interior
Liked least: The end of the weekend break
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Mar 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you had a fantastic weekend. Many Thanks Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An Excellent stress free house for a large family at Christmas!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My family were very comfortable in this house, excellent kitchen facilities with a utility room. The table in the kitchen made it the hub of the house and the most used room. The front room allowed all of us to sit comfortably for present giving and tv with the log burner adding atomsphere at Christmas. The owners had put up tasteful Xmas decorations and the original features of the house, with views over the castle enhanced the atmosphere. The table tennis, table football and pool table were well used. A good house for hide and seek.
The number of en-suites added to our comfort as well as ample secure parking. The church next door was a superb normal relic at which we enjoyed Midnight Mass. Bedding etc was a good quality and there was plenty of hot water!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the house and the number of bathrooms!
Liked least: No bathroom/toilet on the ground floor.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the house and had a lovely Christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james q
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“best new year's eve ever”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

The house was amazing and exceeded all our expectations. Decor was top class, luxurious and finished to a very high standard. Beautiful scenery and great walks for my dog in the surrounding areas. Me and my family went for one week to celebrate new year, 18 in total aged 3 to 68 years all had an excellent time. Would have booked for next new year but unfortunately already booked up, so we are all planning on visiting again in the summer for a BBQ, and to visit the many attractions which are close by such as Alton Towers etc. Tutbury itself is lovely with a number of pubs and shops which were only a couple of minutes walk. Could not find any faults and is the best place we have stayed to date. Unforgettable place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: grandeur
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you had a wonderful New Year and look forward to welcoming you again in the Summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfie07
derbyshire uk
1 review
“All round excellence and quality”
Reviewed 3 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We recently stayed at castle hill house for birthday celebrations and it could not of been better. The accommodation available is excellent and suited all ages from the very young to elders, the house is big enough for all to have their own space without disturbing others with fantastic reception rooms for all to get together. Table tennis, pool and table football was an added bonus for our group, fireworks would of been amazing in the garden with Tutbury castle in the background - if it hadn't poured with rain! Everybody's reaction to the house was Wow! Highly reccomend

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing