We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cycling trail”
Review of Tarka Trail

Tarka Trail
Ranked #145 of 838 things to do in Devon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tarka Trail is a pedestrian and cycle way within the North Devon Biosphere Reserve. This page is for the 48km, shared-use section between Braunton and Meeth which runs along the line of an old railway. It is part of the National Cycle Network and totally traffic free. Along this stretch, interpretation boards and other information help you discover the heritage, culture and natural features you can see. Horses are also welcome between Torrington (Servis bridleway) and Meeth. Further detailed information, including maps can be found in the Tarka Trail Guide available online from the website and in local bookshops, museums and Tourist Information Centres.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fabulous cycling trail”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Just cycled the 14 mile round trip from Fremington Quay to Bideford and back. We had originally planned to start from Braunton but the cycle hire place (Otter Cycle hire) was appalling so we moved on to Fremington and used Bike trail cycle hire instead (who were fab!). The route we took was all flat tarmac and great for the kids (5 and 9) and our 3 yr old loved being in the Weehoo tag along! Will certainly return and maybe try another part of the path!

Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    31
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meeth to Braunton and Back”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent cycling holiday - enjoyed every bit. Nearly all of this is tarmac with no cars in site. We cycled nearly 100 miles during the week and had a great time. Stayed at the Tarka House B&B which is at Weare Gifford which is in the middle of this part. All in all an excellent holiday.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good safe cycling for families”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We cycled the tarka trail from Barnstable to braunton and back, As a family of 4 with children this ride was just the right length (6 miles each way) and mainly flat with only a couple of roads to cross, My son loved the fact the trail passes right beside chivenor military base and we got to see the Raf rescue helicopter taking off.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was our third day out on the trail and we loved it each time - cycling from Torrington to Instow and then from Barnstaple to Braunton. A lovely flat, smooth trail, suitable for all ages and abilities with lots of refreshement places on the way. It's also easy to hire all types of bikes too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a fantastic cycle route”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I cycled from Barnstaple to Plymouth over the weekend with friends along the Tarka Trail and cycle route 27. We all said that the trip exceeded our expectations. The Tarka Trail section is a smooth well surfaced trail alongside the estuary and then takes you into the most beautiful Devon countryside across river bridges, through glorious countryside and woods. All on a basically flat (it's an old railway line) well surfaced trail. Plenty of lovely cafés on route. Once you leave the Tarka Trail towards Sheepwash you turn onto quiet Devon lanes interspersed with other off road sections but the whole route through to Plymouth is beautiful. Approx 80% is off road on well surfaced trails and the sections on road are on nice quiet lanes. If you get the chance go for it, you won't regret it and full marks to Sustrans and Devon CC for providing such an excellent route.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank reinmansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tarka Trail also viewed

 
Fremington, Barnstaple
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to Tarka Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing