We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from Clvelly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pillowery Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pillowery Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Clovelly B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just back from Clvelly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just had a very enjoyable weekend exploring the beautiful Hartland Peninsula.
Sylvia and Chris are very welcoming hosts; their B&B is spotless and the room very comfortable with an excellent shower. A drinks tray had fresh milk and also biscuits to keep you going. Choc mints on the pillow too!
The breakfast was delicious and very well cooked ; all the bread and preserves were home made.
There are some very good pubs nearby for dinner. We tried the Bell Inn and the Hoops Inn and had very good meals at both with generous helpings for hungry walkers and cyclists.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked this house at the last minute and so pleased that we did, VERY comfortable, lovely peope and extremely clean, it is a fair step to the nearest eating place (The Ship Clovelly) but we did not find that a problem at all, if you want comfort and value along with clenliness and helpfull hosts, go for it

Room Tip: Go for the double with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here whilst walking the south west coastla path and were very pleased with the choice. Not many options in Clovelly itself so this is the next best option and fairly easy to locate but had to divert around the herd of inquisitive cows. Lovely and clean with great breakfast and very welcoming hosts. Just what you need from a b&b

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our recent South West Coast Path walk from Hartland Quay to Croyde. We had the double en-suite room at the front of the house. Bed was really comfortable and the location is so quite that we both slept really soundly. Breakfasts were a delight with a wide range of local produce on offer. Chris and Sylvia were very helpful, with Chris taking us to Hartland on our first morning and then picking us up from Clovelly when we were too tired to walk back the hill. Sylvia made packed-lunches for us both days which was really helpful as there are no facilities on the coast near Clovelly. Fresh milk was available in our room for when we wanted to make tea, a nice touch which more establishments like this would do well to copy - UHT pots are the pits! We left our car here all week during the rest of our trip as we worked our way up the coast - completely safe as well off the road. A lovely place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here with friends for two nights whilst walking the SW coast path. We were very pleased with our accommodation, which is exactly as described. One room is a double and ensuite, two are twin with private bathroom but not ensuite. For one, you go to the other side of the house across the landing, but for the other one I believe you have to go downstairs. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculately clean and serviced each day, and Chris and Sylvia seem to have thought of everything you could possibly need in your rooms. There is kettle, tea, coffee, biscuits etc and fresh milk if you want it. A bottle opener, water jug and glasses, information etc etc. The views from the rooms are nice and it is easy enough to walk across the fields then down a lane to Clovelly itself, (but remember a torch (supplied in the room) for the return journey!). The breakfast is served at one large table in the dining room and is delicious and plentiful with lots of home made jam etc. Chris I believe will help with lifts to and from the coast path and the village if required, though we didn't make use of this service. Overall a lovely stay and I would recomment.

Room Tip: The double ensuite attracts a premium but is worth it to save having to travel across the landing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here two nights on our South West Coast Path walk (we had chosen Clovelly for our day of rest half way). Chris and Sylvia were very kind and helpful and made us most welcome. Our room looked out over the country and we had the choice of easy walking across the fields to Clovelly or a lift (worth getting on the way back at least!!). Tasty breakfast - all good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here 1 night while touring the UK. Welcomed by Sylvia, she introduced herself when we arrived which is better than a couple of B&B hosts did. Showed us to the room upstairs.
Clean, Comfortable room overlooking the car park across the road are the cows and beyond that the sea. Large ensuite, soap & showergel provided. Tea, coffee and a selection of biscuits. Milk was in a thermo nicer than those tiny long life milk things. Good breakfast where we sat with the other guests. Nice touch as you talk to them when they are at the same table.
Bedside clock which very few places provide and a torch. A little bit more expensive than other B&B's we stayed but that may depend on the area. Thank you Sylvia & Chris.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretandBobS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillowery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillowery Park

Property: Pillowery Park
Address: Pillowery Park Burscott | Higher Clovelly, Bideford, Devon, Clovelly EX39 5RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clovelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pillowery Park for a quiet holiday in beautiful surroundings, close to the unique and timeless village of Clovelly. PILLOWERY PARK is an eco-friendly timber-frame highly insulated house, designed and built in 2000 by the owners. There are solar panels to pre-heat the water and supply some electricity, mains pressure water saving showers, rainwater flushed toilets, underfloor heating and a high standard of fittings and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Pillowery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillowery Park Clovelly, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing