We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abouseltly Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clovelly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorhead Holiday Cottages
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Abouseltly Amazing”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Been to Moorhead now three times and are planning to go again at Easter,
We have become good friends with Karen and Steve over the years!
We have stayed in Primroses, Bluebell and Foxglove and are planning to go back to Bluebell! This place is amazing clean, tidy and quiet. The only improvement is that if it was done up a bit and modernised it would be Fantastic! The Bar and Restaurant is amazing and the food and drinks are the best! It's easy to find and get around the attractions, it's also a great quiet and relaxing place to stay. The on-site facilities are such a bonus! The Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Games Room and Fishing lake are amazing!
I recommend this place to anyone, Family, Couples and even if you are on your own.
We can't wait to return.

(Stayed July 2011, April 2013, July 2013 and hoping to stay again in April 2014.)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank acrockett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a week here in June, I would just like to point out that these are not individual Cottages they are small apartments, within a block, We had a great week here, great views, Fantastic food, the food is 5 star, the menu is great and the food portions are huge, Thank you Chef, their is so much to see and do locally, Karen and Steve are lovely people, very friendly and hard working, Nothing I can say bad about Morehead, Thanks Guys Olivia and Tony

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Livi196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My partner and I had a Fantastic holiday here end of May this year.Having the swimming pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves was a real treat! and being able to go back to apartment in bathing gear as we were told not to worry about few drips on carpet...los to do local,loved the windy roads,bit of rally practise.lol.spent our last 2 days at the lake.Amazing,caught some cracking fish including biggest Perch I have ever seen! Ideal for couples and families,the games room well equipt,and lots of games,books and d.v.d.you can use,all free!!! Cannot fault the farm in anyway,looking forward to going back in September. Lou and Cliff.x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hippyhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to spend the week away somewhere picturesque and within easy travelling distance (by car) of lots of different tourist spots in Devon/Cornwall and this was an ideal location for us.

On arrival the reception was unmanned but there is a telephone you can use on reception and either Karen or Steve appear pretty quickly. We were given a complimentary upgrade from Hawfinch to Jasmine which was a nice surprise.

We were shown around by Steve and the reception has a fridge with chocolates/drinks etc, there is a restaurant/dining room, that you can book into for evening meals if you wish (except Weds) and there looked to be a good assortment of food available. They did say that we could also order to take away. There is a heated swimming pool with a paddling pool attached and a jacuzzi which is open from 8am to 10pm daily however here is a combi lock on the door (adults are given the combination upon arrival) so unescorted children cannot get in. There is also a sauna which is coin operated and costs £1 for 10 minutes and again this is combi locked. There is a gym and I think I saw a coin op sunbed too. There is a bar with reasonably priced drinks, a games room with table tennis and snooker table, an assortment of board games, books and various dvd's and video's available for free loan. There is also a coin op laundry room with washer and tumble dryer but you need to take your own powder.

There is also a free pitch and putt course, and a fishing lake with ample space for kids to play. There is also lots of onsite parking available although you cannot drive up to the door of your accomodation which isn't a big issue as the car park isn't far away.

An earlier review says there were no basic supplies in the accomodation and whilst this was partly true, they were readily available if needed. Upon arrival there was a complimentary toilet roll in each loo, a tea towel, oven glove, pan scrub, pan brush, cleaning cloth, washing up liquid and cleaning fluids available. Towels were not in the accomodation but you could rent bath towels for £2pw each which was more than reasonable.

The kitchen was adequately equipped for general use and it was very clean and practical, we had a microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher, kettle, toaster. Crockery and cuttlery for 6 people and ample pans.

I think salt/pepper, tin foil (to line grill) and spare bin bags would have been useful but I think if I had asked Steve and Karen, they would have obliged - they were very approachable.

There is ample storage space with large wardrobes in each room with lots of hangers, an ironing board, iron and vacuum cleaner. There were also spare blankets in the cupboards.

Our bedroom was a spacious double with an ensuite toilet) and the 2nd bedroom was again a very spacious twin bedded room. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a bath/shower and storage cupboard. The heating is fully controllable in each room as required.

The front room has 2 x 2str settees, coffee table, lamps, dining table and 4 chairs, a remote control tv/dvd player

The views from the cottage were lovely as you can see from the photo's. We took the photo's as we were leaving so its not as clean and crisp looking as it was when we arrived, but you get the idea, I am sure.

Steve and Karen were available when needed but not obtrusive which is just what we needed and they seemed friendly and welcoming.

Within easy travelling distance is Clovelly (lovely scenery but not for those with mobility problems or a deep desire to totter in heels), Bude, Ilfracome, Barnstable. We also went to Tintagel, Boscombe, the Eden Project (well worth a day), Morwenstowe and Launceston. We had hoped to go to Lundy Isle for the day but it was too early in the season, the trips seemed to start just as we were leaving.

All in all we greatly enjoyed our stay here and found the hosts gauged the situation just right for us attention wise.

I have given it 4 stars rather than 5 because I think certain areas in the cottage accommodation are coming up to needing a refurb but fulfilled our needs and the whole place was exceptionally clean and I certainly had no cause to complain so would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Jasmine, is on the very end with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KJAVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at Moorhead farm in the last 2 weeks of August 2012 in Hawfinch apartment. The apartment met all of our needs for a two week break, we were mostly out in the day and spent most evenings at the farm. One novelty bonus is the free DVD and old-school video library from which we could pick and choose anything to watch back in our apartment.
The weather was quite mixed during our stay which is where Moorhead farm comes into it's own - all inclusive swimming, hot tub, gym, fishing lake, games room, and snooker during the day (you just pay for the light meter in the evening) kept us busy when it rained.
A friendly little bar and restaurant is also a really good feature for the evenings you don't want to make the effort to go out again but fancy a quiet drink.
Steve and Karen were very welcoming, down to earth people - they were very helpful and accomodating. They were happy for us to use our bbq in the grounds outside - there are some benches near the golf course which make a good spot.
The bedding was changed during the middle weekend which was appreciated.
Moorhead was a good base to explore the local area, Bucks Mills has a free carpark at the bottom of the hill with a good walk down to the beach (stony beach!).
Had several good meals out (westward Arms in westward HO! had good restaurant, Thatched Inn did good ham egg and chips, the Hoops - avoid the cheap menu)
We had a nice roast dinner on the sunday at Moorhead Farm.
We would definitely go back to Moorhead Farm.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank team_barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in Jasmine for a week (2 adults and 16 + 12 year olds 18-25 Aug 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed the whole place. It was so peaceful and quiet with plenty of activities for everybody to do from the games room, pool/hot tub, snooker table, fishing lake and lovely grounds. Karen and Steve were great hosts and the availability of a reasonably priced bar on site with excellent food in the restaurant was a great added bonus. Good location for both North Devon and Cornwall with Padstow only 45 mins away. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazbee473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed in 'Holly' for a week, a spotless apartment that provided all we needed as a family of four (including a 13 and a 9 year old). Our hosts, Karen and Steve, could not have been more welcoming and friendly. They somehow manage to be attentive but not overly so, always being available when we needed something (including a loan of a landing net as I'd forgotten mine).

The swimming pool was excellent; warm and deep, and the hot-tub was a real bonus. the kids also enjoyed the games room, with hours of table-tennis and pool keeping us amused when the rain came down.

The fishing lake is fantastic, what a facility to have on your doorstep (and often to myself).

What was also nice was to be able to relax in the bar and enjoy the good quality and great value food in the restaurant, this made this a real holiday as it reduced the amount of cooking that we had to do.

As a base to explore all that North Devon has to offer, including the beautiful Clovelly and the stunning Sandymouth beach, you could not beat Moorhead Farm. This was a good quality, genuine value for money holiday.

A huge thanks to Steve and Karen, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
3.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
542 reviews
3.4 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
190 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pillowery Park
Pillowery Park
#2 of 5 in Clovelly
75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greenfields
Greenfields
#3 of 5 in Clovelly
38 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Smithy B & B
The Old Smithy B & B
#4 of 5 in Clovelly
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhead Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhead Holiday Cottages

Property: Moorhead Holiday Cottages
Address: Moorhead Farm, | Woolsery, Bideford,, Clovelly EX39 5RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Clovelly
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Moorhead Holiday Cottages Clovelly, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing