We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit pricey but worth a visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clovelly Village

Clovelly Village
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Clovelly
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Clovelly, North Devon. World famous for our cobbled, traffic-free street, donkeys, sledges and historic harbour. The stunning views, peaceful tranquility and cobbled, traffic-free, high street of this world famous fishing village, built into a cleft in a 400' high cliff, tumbles its way down past whitewashed cottages festooned with flowers to the tiny working port. It is famous for its donkeys, which traditionally carry goods up the hill; sledges bring things down. There are links with Charles Kingsley, Turner, Dickens and the Spanish Armada.
Taunton
Level Contributor
207 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bit pricey but worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited on a gloriously warm, sunny day which made Clovelly all the more beautiful. Bit shocked to find you have to pay to visit, maybe a couple of pounds would be more realistic but over six pounds each was a bit excessive. Parking is free tho!!! The walk down is great fun, a cobbled sloped pathway all the way down with lovely little shops to have a nose in, and such pretty little houses all the way down the hill until you get to a pub at the bottom for a much needed cold pint! The walk back up is a bit more of an effort, exhausting to be honest! So glad we went and we couldn't have asked for better weather, the views were stunning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JasonandNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Clovelly Village! You’re right, the admission fee covers car parking, it also includes entrance to the audio-visual film, Fisherman’s Cottage, Kingsley Museum and Clovelly Court Gardens. A substantial amount of the entrance fee contributes to the maintenance of the village, playing a vital role in keeping Clovelly so special. Thank you for writing this review of your visit ~ We do hope you will return soon, in search of those stunning Clovelly views! :)

Ellie
Clovelly Village Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    382
    218
    111
    153
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Holiday visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wondered if fairly high entrance fee would be worth it, but under 7s were free. Very friendly welcome from all staff. Beautiful little village on steep slope, not too commercialised. Pretty harbour with pub and boat trips. Landrover to drive you back up the hill for £2.50 if walk too steep. Lovely gardens also included in price, where we took our picnic lunch. Great day out

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful little Devon village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Clovelly is a cobbled, hilly, village in Devon with fantastic views and is very unique and quirky. Cars are not allowed into the village unless you are staying at one of the hotels.
It is one of the prettiest little villages in the UK, but because of this is a bit pricey.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bigjoey1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Clovelly Uber Alles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

A delightful coastal fishing port, with steep cobbled streets. I enjoyed a boat trip from the harbour and a crab sandwich for lunch. My daughter enjoyed the donkey ride. Upon arrival, as recommended, we went to view the introductory video. Despite being the only family in the theatre we were however informed that the 11am film would be shown in German. Nothing against Germans but w.t.f. ?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JonnersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My Son and daughter in law with my 4 and 6 year old grandaughters. plus my sister (60's). One Jack Russell.
We really enjoyed the experience. This was something that we had wanted to see and we were not disappointed. Enjoyed cream tea in the pub and Crab sandwiches at the harbour. Grandaughters went for the Donkey rides and thoroughly enjoyed it. A good hike through the village, best part of the walk was climbing uphill, much easier than going down.

Stout shoes are an advantage as cobbles are the only walking surfaces.

Cameras are a must for the excellent views.

There is a motorised service to the harbour. I think that there is a fee for this.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clovelly Village also viewed

 

Been to Clovelly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing