We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking tour”

Clovelly Village Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Clovelly
Attraction details
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Walking tour”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stumbled on Clovelly by accident but what a wonderful one.Having two teenagers one interested in history and one more interested in shopping I am never sure how my day will turn out. Jana the tour guide was like an angel sent from heaven...she really engaged both of my teenagers. She engaged us all and had our full attention.We really enjoyed our journey and we were disappointed when it ended. Thank you Jana.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Owner at Clovelly Village Walking Tours, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
It was lovely to meet you and tell you the story behind this beautiful and unique place.
Please come back and visit us again soon!
Jana x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jana. The best way to learn and appreciate more about Clovelly and surrounding area.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Seriously. If you make a visit to Clovelly then make sure you take a walking tour with Jana. We booked a tour with her during a long weekend spent at the Red Lion Hotel.

We'd already been up and down the village a couple of times before the Sunday we met up with her. Meeting at the top of the village by the war memorial Jana then regaled us with tales about the donkeys, the fishermen, real-life for the residents ('some visitors believe this is a theme park and think the residents are actors!'), the surrounding area and famous residents including Charles Kingsley and the much missed Clovelly milk-man, Martin Braund.

Most of all it was Jana's enthusiasm for Christine Hamlyn and how her restoration work had so improved the quality of buildings and life for the residents in the early part of last century that made the variety of building styles and decor make more sense.

And so by the time we reached the harbour my wife and I felt even more love for this unique part of Devon. Thank you, Jana.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilLeacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Owner at Clovelly Village Walking Tours, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank You very much for your review!!!I
Thank you for your enthusiasm and participation because it is people like YOU that make my job so worthwhile.It was lovely to meet you.
Kind Regards,Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Highlight of our short break in North Devon”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Thanks to previous reviewers for highlighting Jana's services. She spent one and a half hours with just the two of us and still only asked for £3 each! Her enthusiasm and knowledge and obvious love fore the village and its history really brought it to life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real Clovelly experience”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A big thank you to Jana for a most wonderful tour today! You really haven't experienced Clovelly properly until you see it through the eyes of someone who knows the history behind the resort. I would say that anyone visiting Clovelly (and that is highly recommended) seek out Jana and get the full experience of her knowledge as well as the warm, friendly and enthusiastic company that she brings into making you feel, for the duration of the tour, a real part of the village and their way of life. Thanks again! I will be back soon to enjoy this must not miss opportunity.

Ashley.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“1st rate tour”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a fab tour with Jana on boxing day. Even though the visitor centre was closed, Jana was happy to meet us and provide us with a personal tour of the village. We started by meeting the donkeys then took a stroll down through the village towards the harbour. Jana was very informative and knowledgable and we would have missed such a lot without her to show us around. What a pretty village with a unique way of life. Although we had read up about the village beforehand, she gave us so much more information about the history of the estate as well as more recent events. I don't think you could find a more enthusiastic, friendly tour guide! There are some comments on trip advisor complaining about having to pay to enter the village, but this money helps to maintain the cottages and village itself and I think most people would be happy to contribute towards the upkeep of the place if they knew the reasons behind the fees. Many thanks to Jana for making our visit come to life. Jo & Ian

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clovelly Village Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Clovelly Village Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing