We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lady fantastic tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clovelly Village Walking Tours

Clovelly Village Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Clovelly
Attraction details
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful lady fantastic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Jana's tour are a must if you come to Clovelly, I am a little late writting this review as we came 24th May 2014. The tour is so interesting and Jana is very enthusiastic and you can't help but fall in love with this wonderful village. Do not make the mistake in thinking you can just wander and see all there is,you will miss lots.! Jana is brilliant and she puts so much in to the tour don't miss out.
If you can stay at the Red Lion room 19 Fantastic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethsaxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jana's walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Anyone visiting Clovelly must join one of Jana's walking tours. Her knowledge of the history of this picturesque village was excellent. Her enthusiasm and friendly manner made the two hours fly by. We now know that Clovelly is more than just a village on a steep cliff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stumbled on Clovelly by accident but what a wonderful one.Having two teenagers one interested in history and one more interested in shopping I am never sure how my day will turn out. Jana the tour guide was like an angel sent from heaven...she really engaged both of my teenagers. She engaged us all and had our full attention.We really enjoyed our journey and we were disappointed when it ended. Thank you Jana.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Owner at Clovelly Village Walking Tours, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
It was lovely to meet you and tell you the story behind this beautiful and unique place.
Please come back and visit us again soon!
Jana x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jana. The best way to learn and appreciate more about Clovelly and surrounding area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Seriously. If you make a visit to Clovelly then make sure you take a walking tour with Jana. We booked a tour with her during a long weekend spent at the Red Lion Hotel.

We'd already been up and down the village a couple of times before the Sunday we met up with her. Meeting at the top of the village by the war memorial Jana then regaled us with tales about the donkeys, the fishermen, real-life for the residents ('some visitors believe this is a theme park and think the residents are actors!'), the surrounding area and famous residents including Charles Kingsley and the much missed Clovelly milk-man, Martin Braund.

Most of all it was Jana's enthusiasm for Christine Hamlyn and how her restoration work had so improved the quality of buildings and life for the residents in the early part of last century that made the variety of building styles and decor make more sense.

And so by the time we reached the harbour my wife and I felt even more love for this unique part of Devon. Thank you, Jana.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilLeacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Owner at Clovelly Village Walking Tours, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank You very much for your review!!!I
Thank you for your enthusiasm and participation because it is people like YOU that make my job so worthwhile.It was lovely to meet you.
Kind Regards,Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highlight of our short break in North Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Thanks to previous reviewers for highlighting Jana's services. She spent one and a half hours with just the two of us and still only asked for £3 each! Her enthusiasm and knowledge and obvious love fore the village and its history really brought it to life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clovelly Village Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Clovelly Village Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing