We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shame about the service”
Review of River Restaurant

River Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 92 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: US$0 - US$65
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
england
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the service”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Four of us ate here on a Saturday night. While we all enjoyed our food in terms of taste, presentation and ingredients, we were less than impressed with the service.
On arriving at the hotel you’re left to drift through the building with no clear indication of where the restaurant is, and on finding the right place a few staff passed us by before anyone thought to welcome us and show us to our table. Whilst waiting we saw a waitress walking along absentmindedly shaking two bottles of wine. I sincerely hope she didn’t do this with the wine she later brought to our table.
We were disappointed that the waiting staff were wearing t-shirts. Yes it was regatta week, but this is not suitable attire for this style of restaurant.
The various staff who served us all seemed willing but generally inexperienced. We were rather rushed into giving our orders, had our water glasses topped up far too many times but were left to top up our own wine, the waitress had to rummage around her basket of bread as she couldn't find most of what she offered, wine arrived before wine glasses so was unceremoniously dumped on the table. It was all rather amateurish. The experience was not helped by having to visit a ladies toilet that was urgently in need of a clean and tidy.
We ordered coffees and asked to have them in the restaurant rather than the reception area, as this was both full and draughty. The waiter went to ask permission from a senior as to whether we could do this, which should not have been questioned. On being served the coffees we were very disappointed to receive only one petit four per person – these are never normally served in the singular.

Overall we were disappointed by the experience. The food was good but the service we received really lets it down. When charging the prices that this restaurant does and billing itself as 'fine dining', the whole thing should be impressive. It wasn't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Firstly, may I say that I found the concierge at this hotel to be one of the best I've ever encountered - he clearly took pride in his work and was an absolute delight. A credit to the hotel!
My friend and I had lunch at this hotel - not the first time, but the first since it's re-furb. Service was as you would expect from a hotel of this calibre, but delivery of food was somewhat slow. Good presentation and great flavours. Overall, a very pleasant lunch overlooking the river.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“huge disappointment!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We dined here last week,it was absolutely awful!
It has really gone down hill from last year.
I had Bruchetta with tomatoes and mozzerella cheese, terrible, tasted like a cold piece of toast with stone cold chopped tomatoes and a layer of solid mozzerella!
i only had two mouthfuls and then complained.
They took the price of the starter off the bill but by then i really wasn't interested by having
the rest of the meal.
I will never dine here again.
Overpriced and all talk and no action!
The service wasn't up to scratch either, took ages to order the wine and felt very hurried and
unfriendly.
If you want an amazing meal that you don't mind paying good money for go to Annabelles Kitchen (amazing) or Taylors (really lovely).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clarewBristolUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Ate here for lunch today, we've been staying in one of the Dart Marina apartments. I had the fish and chips, my companion the salmon. For dessert, the blackcurrant pannacotta. All excellent, the chips especially. Around £55 for two courses and drinks. Despite the lukewarm TA reviews, I would recommend. Lovely setting, friendly staff, one of whom escorted me to and from the car with an umbrella - a nice touch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
380 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Plenty other better places to eat in Dartmouth”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We ate in the restaurant on the first night of a 3 night stay. We both had the crab and asparagus starter which was totally bland. The menu was very limied so we followed with a fillet steak each, thinking it was a safe choice, even if it was an £8 supplement each. I asked for rare but it was overcooked and not even hot. Tacoompanying whole tomato and flat mushroom were virtually tasteless. My wife asked for medium but hers was undercooked. We decided not to chance a dessert! T wine was good, but at £46 a bottle it shoul be!
Very disappointing.
There are obviously some regulars here, can't think why, as some diners seemed to get far better attention than we did. There was little atmosphere as the restaurant is huge and there were only about 16 diners.

We had originally booked into the Hotel for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Thank goodness we changed our minds. Wouldn't go again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Restaurant also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Devon
 

Been to River Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing