We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valley House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2014

"Angie and Martin their usual charming selves - warm, friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Vegetarian option was not a problem and there was a good selection of breakfast materials generally. Room was nice and warm and it was a great base from which to go exploring. It was really helpful to have on-site parking too - a rarity in Dartmouth. A simple matter to walk to the town centre."

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights for new year with my Mum. Lovely warm welcome, spotlessly clean attractive rooms and a fantastic breakfast. Martin was so kind and gave us a lift into town as a bit too far for my Mum to walk. Both he and Angie were so hospitable - nothing was too much trouble. Do hope to stay again soon. Anna & Di x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The best B&B we’ve stayed in for years! The room was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and a proper spacious bathroom. The room was well stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits and even had a fridge with fresh milk available – perfect! The full English breakfast was scrummy – great quality & plenty of it! There’s onsite parking which was a godsend in Dartmouth, with just an easy 5 minute stroll down to Dartmouth centre. The hosts, Angela & Martin were extremely welcoming & gave us lots of great tips about what to do & see in the area. I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B, we will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlorenceCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We travelled down to Dartmouth and had booked our few days break at Valley House.As soon as we arrived Martin and Angela made us feel very welcome . Our accommodation was first class and spotless especially the on suite . Martin and Angela greeted us when we went down to breakfast and Martin took our order for breakfast which was cooked to order and quite honestly set us up for the day!.I had noticed that there was a performance of King Lear at Dartmouth Castle during our stay and Angela not only booked tickets for us but insisted we took a flask of hot chocolate and biscuits to have during the interval plus provided us with cushions for this outdoor performance .Valley House exceeded all our expectations and we will certainly be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kearney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our first stay in Dartmouth, and for next time we'll look no further. Excellent location 10 minutes mostly level walk to town, car parking on site. Warm welcome from Martin and Angie. Martin took luggage to our room. Very comfortable twin room on top floor, with many thoughtful extras, and a spacious bathroom. Plenty of helpful advice on local attractions. Delicious plentiful breakfast, cooked to order. Attractive floral display in front courtyard garden. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Stairs are steep, possibly not easy if you are not too mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MandHWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Angie and Martin saved our weekend as we'd been let down by some poor accommodation. They were very welcoming, helpful and meant we were able to have a few days in Dartmouth after all. Good location, ideal for the centre and good breakfast too.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dannydaniels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have stayed again with Angie and Martin who are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast is cooked to order and is delicious. Parking is on the premises and it is an easy 10 minute walk into Dartmouth.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gorls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The George Inn, Blackawton
The George Inn, Blackawton
#1 of 3 in Blackawton
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#9 of 52 in Dartmouth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 46 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly, officially graded 4 star bed & breakfast in the heart of Dartmouth. We provide free on-site parking for all of our guests (a particular advantage in Dartmouth!)We offer double or twin bedded en-suite rooms, all are well equipped with colour tv and dvd, wi-fi access, radio alarm clock, mini-fridge,hairdryer,bath robes, well stocked hospitality tray etc.we are centrally located just a few minutes walk to the river dart, restaurants, shops, galleries, boat trips etc.enjoy our wonderful breakfasts which are cooked to order, using local produce wherever possible,(we are happy to cater for special dietary requirements on request) served to you at your individual table in our breakfast room which looks out onto our award winning floral display (we are pleased to have been a 'Britain in bloom' prize winner for the last 8 years).we offer discounts for stays of 4 nights and also a further discounted 'special' weekly rate. We will also provide a free transfer to and from our nearest train station for weekly stays.we are delighted to be featured in the lonely planet guide & to be recommended in the Sunday observer newspaper in 2009. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to valley house ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley House Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing