We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valley House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stated here as a stop over on our way to Cornwall for our honeymoon and we could not have been made to feel more welcome. The room we stayed in was clean and well laid out with a comfortable bed. Good facilities and a wonderful breakfast. Thank you very much for a lovely stay. Amy and Ross

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy-and-Ross2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at Valley House with Angie and Martin on many occasions over the past two years. The rooms, all with en-suites, are well equipped, very comfortable and clean and the breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice for all tastes and diets. There is off-road parking, a real plus in Dartmouth, and the town is only a few minutes walk away. Angie and Martin are always welcoming, wonderfully friendly and attentive and will go out of their way to help guests with any problems they have, or local information they need. A superb base for visiting Dartmouth or exploring the South Hams, We would not stay anywhere else.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I booked Valley House for 3 nights in April this year for the weekend following Easter; we were with the in-laws so we booked one double room and another with twin beds.
They have off street parking which is a bonus in such a central location.

From the start, Angie and Martin were very friendly, hospitable and greeted us with a warm smile.

The property is very clean and the rooms are attentively cared for; the beds are professionally made, the towels were clean and fresh, the en-suite bathrooms have modern showers fitted and a coffee & tea tray was also provided in the rooms - it seems that all the awards and ratings they have acquired are very well deserved.

Having a full English breakfast for 3 days in row can be a bit challenging these days, but not from the hands of Angie and Martin for their cooked English breakfast was light and delicious. My in-laws who were visiting us from abroad enjoyed it tremendously.
In addition, different types of cereal/muesli, juices and coffee/tea were abundantly served at breakfast.

The hosts included a complete tourist pack in every room including brochures and flyers about Dartmouth, the neighbouring area and key attractions to see. They further advised us on what to see, where to eat and equipped us with relevant travel instructions.

The house is strategically located for exploring Dartmouth on foot. It is about 5 mins walk to the old market and a further couple of minutes to the Boat Float in the centre. If you ever stay there then I suggest you take a walk up Victoria Road and go all the way up, keep right and come down Clarence Hill to the river bank between the higher ferry port and the town centre; on a clear evening the views are simply gorgeous.

All in all it was a lovely stay at Valley House and we would highly recommend it to others visiting South Devon: base yourself at Dartmouth and explore the county from there.

Thank you Angie and Martin for your hospitality and we wish you the best of luck for the future.

Bassem & Rania

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is our third stay at Valley House, a warm welcome from Angie and Martin. Everything at the Guest House is perfect, they go out of there way to help. The breakfast is excellent. No doubt we will go back sometime

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

"Angie and Martin their usual charming selves - warm, friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Vegetarian option was not a problem and there was a good selection of breakfast materials generally. Room was nice and warm and it was a great base from which to go exploring. It was really helpful to have on-site parking too - a rarity in Dartmouth. A simple matter to walk to the town centre."

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights for new year with my Mum. Lovely warm welcome, spotlessly clean attractive rooms and a fantastic breakfast. Martin was so kind and gave us a lift into town as a bit too far for my Mum to walk. Both he and Angie were so hospitable - nothing was too much trouble. Do hope to stay again soon. Anna & Di x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The best B&B we’ve stayed in for years! The room was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and a proper spacious bathroom. The room was well stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits and even had a fridge with fresh milk available – perfect! The full English breakfast was scrummy – great quality & plenty of it! There’s onsite parking which was a godsend in Dartmouth, with just an easy 5 minute stroll down to Dartmouth centre. The hosts, Angela & Martin were extremely welcoming & gave us lots of great tips about what to do & see in the area. I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B, we will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlorenceCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairholme B&B and Holiday Apartment
1.1 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenway Barn B&B
Greenway Barn B&B
#3 of 6 in Kingswear
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 46 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly, officially graded 4 star bed & breakfast in the heart of Dartmouth. We provide free on-site parking for all of our guests (a particular advantage in Dartmouth!)We offer double or twin bedded en-suite rooms, all are well equipped with colour tv and dvd, wi-fi access, radio alarm clock, mini-fridge,hairdryer,bath robes, well stocked hospitality tray etc.we are centrally located just a few minutes walk to the river dart, restaurants, shops, galleries, boat trips etc.enjoy our wonderful breakfasts which are cooked to order, using local produce wherever possible,(we are happy to cater for special dietary requirements on request) served to you at your individual table in our breakfast room which looks out onto our award winning floral display (we are pleased to have been a 'Britain in bloom' prize winner for the last 8 years).we offer discounts for stays of 4 nights and also a further discounted 'special' weekly rate. We will also provide a free transfer to and from our nearest train station for weekly stays.we are delighted to be featured in the lonely planet guide & to be recommended in the Sunday observer newspaper in 2009. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to valley house ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley House Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing