We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant but food could be better”

Kendricks Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #5 of 97 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but food could be better”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have been a regular at Kendricks over the years on our annual Dartmouth visit as it's a family orientated restaurant. It still has a good friendly atmosphere and service is good but felt the food was pretty average. I had the Whitebait starter and a steak with peppercorn sauce. Good portion sizes but food was nothing special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    238
    52
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure to eat here”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have visited the great restaurant again our second visit was just as good as the first. There service was good, atmosphere was great and a terrific choice of food. We enjoyed the delicious squid starter followed by a wonderful monkfish and king prawn curry and 10oz ribeye steak. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wishing for good value and excellent choice of food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
“Best Garlic Bread”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went to Kendricks whilst on holiday in Dartmouth. We were not disappointed, the food was great with good size portions. My son, who will only have garlic bread when eating out, said it was one of the best garlic breads he had ever had (a rare compliment from someone who is so fussy). Atmosphere and service were great. Would definitely go again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1972James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely ! Great staff and perfect portions.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I visited Dartmouth for a week during the school holidays with my 2 children, aged 10 and 14. Kendricks fast became our favourite eatery. It is a bit dark when you walk in but don't be put off. The staff are brilliant and it is very welcoming. The children were treated perfectly, like young adults and spoken to properly and directly. So many restaurants fail at this and children often get ignored.The food is really good, simple steaks and ribs are served in big portions with really good chips. I liked the chilli and if course plenty of fishy options too. Reasonably priced(rare in Dartmouth as there are plenty of expensive options close by) with welcome chips and dips included.It does get busy and is always booked up, so book in advance if you can. We sat downstairs and the atmosphere was good and lively with lots of families like us and groups of friends. Don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank pierremad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good food but "noisy" atmosphere.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The food is very tasty,but due to the size of the place it can be quite noisy due to people numbers,so you may not stay long after eating,but I would eat there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bikerphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kendricks Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kendricks Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing