We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would like to have rated higher”

The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 97 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: US$26 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Grill Room is our first floor river view restaurant, decorated in a contemporary style. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Restaurant provides the ideal location for a romantic dinner, lunch with friends, private parties, or business gatherings.
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Would like to have rated higher.

Facilities and service bar good. We stopped for food and coffee. It didn't feel the most welcoming place for our 2 children 4 and 1 so just had coffee in the end and went elsewhere. Clientele older and we got 'a lot of looks' so we felt more comfortable to go.

Shame really. We've had Sunday Lunch before hitch was great and children made to feel welcome so was disappointed this time.

I would come back.

Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you didn’t have an enjoyable visit to our hotel. We welcome children in to the hotel and do have a children’s policy within our hotel that we feel benefits all. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Visited the hotel and asked whether we could bring a baby in to the grill area. I was told that this would be fine. We sat down at the end of the grill area in a quite part and ordered drinks, whilst we where looking through the menu a waitress came over who was the rudest waitress that I have ever came across, she ordered us from our seats and told us we couldn't sit there, but we could move to the other end of the same room where it was crowded, and that I would need to leave our pushchair outside, which usually wouldn't be a problem if we could have a high chair, the same rude waitress informed us that we couldn't have a high chair that table. We tried to discuss the inconvenience this had caused with the waitress and she refused to discuss anything and said we needed to speak to the supervisor. After a discussion with the supervisor, we ended up leaving with no meal having to pay for our drinks although we where basically asked to leave because we had a baby. What a shame as the place looked nice, give a wide birth if you are a family. As we where leaving the duty manager tried to apologise and said he would find us a table, unfortunately we felt this was to little to late

    • Service
3  Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are sorry that your experience here at the Royal Castle wasn’t an enjoyable one. We do have a children’s policy in place in our bars downstairs that we believe benefits all. We allow families with children in the bottom half of the Galleon bar before 7pm and do not allow children at all in our Harbour bar. Our waitress was correct in informing you we do not allow pushchairs or high chairs in the bar and this is because of the available space in the bar is limited. We do have other areas available in the hotel where high chairs are permitted. The library is a fantastic place to book for a family meal giving you a private dining area, we also have a lounge area on the 1st floor where families are welcome and also our main Grill room restaurant is also child friendly. If you come and visit us again we advise booking one of these areas. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Ate here two nights running with friends on a short break in Dartmouth. Had the carvery on Sunday which was excellent and then returned the following night for the A la Carte which was equally as good. We were well looked after by Cata and the overall service was very good. Would certainly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for such an excellent review.
We are so pleased that your experience here at the Royal Castle was an enjoyable one for both of your visits. We pride ourselves on great service and are delighted Cata did not disappoint. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked in for a Valentine Meal at the last minute in the Grill Room and we weren't disappointed. Every course was excellent with service to match. We will certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Our Head Chef Ankur puts a lot of preparation into these events and we are always delighted when we get such a great review, thank you. We are please you enjoyed your Valentine’s meal with us and we could help you celebrate such a special occasion. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This review relates to the bar downstairs.

We had a lovely lunch - burger was amazing and one member of the party had the crab sandwich which they said was fantastic.

Cosy and friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C8rd1ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your meal in our bar downstairs. You will be pleased to know that all the crab we use is local crab from the area and we also make our own burgers in house, using local beef as well. Thank you for the great review.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing