We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch at The Grill Room”

The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #25 of 96 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: US$25 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Grill Room is our first floor river view restaurant, decorated in a contemporary style. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Restaurant provides the ideal location for a romantic dinner, lunch with friends, private parties, or business gatherings.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at The Grill Room”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have known the Royal Castle for well over thirty years and indeed have many fond memories of lunching upstairs in The Grill Room with the children all those years ago. The one big difference is that the Sunday Lunch is now a carvery, which we had not realised and which was not pointed out to us when we booked. To be fair to The Royal Castle there is a note on the menu that you may request to have your meal served at the table. If you are a fan of a carvery then you will be quite happy, but if not you may be a little disappointed.

As a non meat eater I had a choice of a vegetarian or fish starter and a vegetarian or fish main course, prepared in the kitchen and not from the carvery. We arrived at 12.30 and lamb, beef, pork and turkey were on offer. We started with mackerell for my husband and a brie salad for me ( somewhere there should have been a balsamic drizzle to liven up the leaves but it seemed to be on the slice of toast and the portion of brie was rather tiny). Our main courses were the beef with roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and vegetables, which by the very nature of being part of the carvery were the biggest disappointment of the meal, and for me trout and lovely fresh vegetables prepared with the trout and not sitting on a hotplate on the carvery table. A very pleasant Californian red and nice breads completed our meal.

The waitresses were very pleasant and when I asked to co-ordinate the arrival of my trout with the carvery the waitress came to tell me that my trout would be just a few minutes, ensuring that we both received our meals at the same time.

I always expect a linen napkin and was disappointed to see that heavy paper napkins were on the table. I know the laundry costs add to the overall price of the meal but I would prefer to pay a little more to have a linen napkin.

I would have preferred to give 3.5 stars ( not available ).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontagueSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our Sunday Carvery served in the restaurant is under constant review and we are always looking to improve. We are sorry if you felt the experience of the Carvery wasn’t excellent, we always put out fresh vegetables in the chaffing dishes but are more than happy to prepare some from the kitchen for individual tables when asked. We hope you will come and try us again soon and look forward to seeing you. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    139
    49
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better upstairs than down”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We went with friends late last year and ate in the bar - all four dishes can only be described as odd. We were urged to go again but this time to the upstairs restaurant, so went for our wedding anniversary on a week day. We were one of only three tables so the atmosphere was a little dull but our waitress was friendly and attentive, but not overly so. The food was terrific, we ate every scrap and couldn't finish our cheese, which the waitress kindly wrapped for us to take home. We will definitely go again - we hear the Sunday carvery is excellent (again, in the restaurant rather than the bar).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal when you dined with us in our Grill room restaurant and that one of our waitresses looked after you so well. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe even for one of our Sunday Carverys. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Winning ambience”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a family re-union at the Royal Castle Hotel at lunchtime and we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon here.
Mary and staff provided an excellent level of food, drink and service, all delivered with a cheery and personal touch.
We will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased that the team here at the Castle were able to help with you family occasion. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with excellent service as we always do here. Food is always excellent and the atmosphere is always great! Many thanks

Helpful?
Thank TheFox147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed you meal with us and hope to see you again sometime soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Curry night...excellent”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

After seeing a notice outside we went for the all you can eat curry night and found a nice vibrant atmosphere, great food and reasonable price. Will definitely return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the curry night at the castle; it is always popular with our locals. All of our curries are made in house by our head chef, Ankur Biswas. Thank you for the review, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing