We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday, we will return!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday, we will return!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed in Oaktree cottage which was very comfortable and had everything we could wish for. The kitchen appeared newly renovated and the en-suite to the master bedroom was also new. The onsite facilities were fantastic and the surrounding gardens very beautiful. We all appreciated the wildlife - we saw bats, rabbits, and even an owl. The pool and jacuzzi proved very popular and we often had them to ourselves. Even though it wasn't the best Spring weather we all had a very relaxing time. Our children enjoyed it so much that they didn't want to go home and now keep asking when we can go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
97
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

April 13 was our 3rd visit in twelve months to Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages and yet again we weren't disappointed. The owners Peter & Lin are very welcoming,the perfect start to a holiday. We also were very lucky with the weather, clear blue skies most days but a little chilly!! The cottages were imaculate on arrival. We have stayed in Waterfall, Oaktree and Hayloft during our visits all of which are well appointed and comfortable. The real log fires offering a cosy environment. The facilities at Higher Bowden are excellent and the grounds stunning. Our 5 year old twins were in their element with the games room, tennis court, swimming pool, play areas, guinea pigs and of course the goats which we had to join in the feeding daily. Set in a rural area the views are stunning and yet only 10 - 15 min drive to Dartmouth. This area of South Devon offers plenty to do without having to travel too far, crabbing in Dittisham and the beach at East Portlemouth always a favourite with us. We look forward to our 4th visit!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

We have been to Higher Bowden more than 10 times now and will keep going back. We have stayed in many of the cottages and they are all excellent. The hosts are very welcoming and always helpful. The facilities are first rate and provide great entertainment for the whole family. I wholeheartedly recommend Higher Bowden.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanceginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was our third visit in twelve months and we are already looking forward to booking our fourth holiday at Higher Bowden. We had heard of families having regular, twice-a-year holidays here for ten years or more, and we can understand why: Higher Bowden is becoming a real home from home.
Despite the hideously cold and inhospitable weather this Easter, we had a wonderful time again. Our cottage was as warm and welcoming as the greeting from Peter and Lin, and all three of us felt properly relaxed from the moment we arrived, and had grown roots by leaving-time.
It feels like a really rural, off-the-beaten-track country retreat, but without the hard work of having to travel to entertain everyone in the family once you’re there – there’s plenty to do on site – a real bonus when you combine small children and the British weather! Close enough to civilisation, though, when you do get stir-crazy, and there’s loads of choice of places to visit and things to do within a few miles’ radius.
There’s enough space to feel as if you’ve got the site to yourself, even in peak season, and we were often the only family in the pool, which felt very luxurious.
We feel incredibly lucky to have stumbled upon this place, and can’t wait to go back – thanks, Peter and Lin! We’ll see you soon. xx

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Booked the holiday, then looked at the reviews! Worried that I'd made a big mistake but I can't understand the dissatisfaction of the complainers.
We have just had a terrifc holiday at Higher Bowden (couple with girls of 10 and 8).
Communication and directions from owners prior to departure excellent - believe the directions and not the sat nav.
We stayed in Courtyard cottage which was immaculate,comfortable, with all the amenities I expected. Washing up liquid etc provided - first time in this type of accomodation for us that we didn't need our own.
Facilities on site are great. Good pool (opening hours for us were fine), great tennis court with decent rackets and balls provided, nice fun putting green - balls and putters provided, just help yourself, games room is nice and well equipped.
Our girls loved the guineapigs and goats and lookeed forward to helping Peter with the feeds.
We had a great welcome and send off and were left to do our own thing in between, signs and notices are not restrictive and log supply is plenty.
Roads approaching the cottages are narrow but this is typical of the area, the walk down to the beech is beautiful.
This is a lovely part of the country with plenty to do, the cottages are great and the owners were perfect hosts.
We had moderate to poor weather but our girls loved it and are desperate for us to go again. Every chance they will get their way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here during October the week before national half term so the place wasn't full. Oaktree Cottage was fairly spacious with a decent kitchen and living area. The downside was that the place was full of cobwebs and there were plenty of spiders roaming around. The facilities are great for children but I didn't find the swimming pool area particularly clean. The swimming pool itself had a layer of dirt around it. It seemed to me that the place had come to the end of a busy season and was in need of a good clean. I wouldn't consider paying almost £2000 to stay here in summer..........

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We booked Rose Cottage for the October half-term and had high expectations bearing in mind the description on the website (which speaks of "Luxury Cottages") and the high price we paid. What a disappointment ! My wife was in tears when she saw the state of the place. The first thing that hits you as you enter the cottage is a smell of damp and the large cobweb-filled gaps down the each side of the stair run. The kitchen is small, dark and every surface seemed sticky. More cobwebs underneath and down the sides of the applicances, and spiders everywhere. More spiders in all the other rooms, and when I pulled the lounge curtain across about a hundred flies which had been resting behind it started buzzing around. The place was cold and draughty and the ancient economy seven storage heathers added to the depression. The whole cottage was not fresh or healthy. When I complained, the owner initially promised us a full refund, but when he handed over the cheque as we were leaving he had deducted £500 "for two nights stay" even though we had been on the premises less than 24 hours (plus even two nights would not add up to £500). We couldn't get away fast enough, but in hindsight I should have asked for not only a full refund but additional compensation for the stress of having our holiday ruined. Fortunately we manage to book somewhere else. I will never go back to HB.

Room Tip: Avoid Rose Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JKandtheOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HigherBowden, Owner at Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
My wife and I are both shocked when on the rare occasion a guest has this opinion of our cottages, as owners we put our life into the upkeep and quality of the cottages and maintaining our 4 Star Gold rating. The accommodation is definitely not “sub-standard” (as shown by the number of good reports on Tripadivsor and the 25% of guests who return every year) and this opinion did not come out when both my wife and I spent an hour discussing their views with them.
The cottage is a traditional farm house (originally built in the late 17th century) that has been thoroughly modernised but due to the stone walls can on occasions feel damp especially after the wet year we have just suffered and the dark October days. The work surfaces were definitely not “sticky” as both my wife & our house keeper cleaned the cottage the day before they arrived.

I agree with the guests comments on the “old” night storage heaters which have done their job well over the years but have since been replaced. Spiders are always an issue in autumn, especially in traditional cottages where they have many places to hide, but we do use an anti-spider spay to keep them at bay. There can be an issue with “cluster flies” but to the best of our knowledge there were none in their cottage, having personally checked the cottage thoroughly 4 hours before they arrived, they also did not mention this during our discussion on the day they left.
The comment about the amount of money deducted is totally incorrect and was significantly less than the £500 stated and interestingly it was the husband who volunteered that he was happy to pay for the time they were on site. Having said all this we are still very sorry that their experience of Higher Bowden was apparently so bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.5 mi away
Strete Barton House
Strete Barton House
#1 of 3 in Strete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages

Property: Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Address: Higher Bowden, Dartmouth TQ6 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is now closed for holiday letting ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing