We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dartmouth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bulstone Hotel(Branscombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
92
13
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
13
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesgarden cottagesouth hamspeterfacilitiesaccommodationbreak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just back from a lovely one week break at Higher Bowden, what a stunning place it was there really is something for everyone, we stayed in oaktree cottage and loved it so much we are thinking about returning next year, the whole place is simply faultless. Lin and Peter many thanks for a really enjoyable holiday. Derek and jenny and family (Herts)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Really Great playground and other playing facilities for Kids (e.g. indoor playing room with excellent toys). Very well kept Garden in a quiet area. Friendly staff.
Cottage (yeomans) Equipped in Standard of 70s (Except TV), Never ever 4 Star Standard.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank TeeJay115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HigherBowden, Owner at Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for the positive aspect of your review however it never ceases to amaze me how one guest can review our cottages as excellent and another can state it as “Old fashioned” and “Equipped in Standard of 70s (Except TV), Never ever 4 Star Standard”. In our 2 conversations with the guest when on site they said that they had enjoyed their cottage and the stay in the area with no negative comments about the cottage. These conversations were with Lin & Myself who are the owners of the business and live on site and not staff as mentioned in this guest review (we did introduce ourselves as such).

For other guests who may wish to stay in this cottage the equipment in the cottage is all less than 10 years (TV is 5 years, Fridge/freezer is 2 years, Dishwasher is 2 years, DVD player 5 years etc.) plus the soft furnishings are all less than 2 years! With regard to the 4 star standard we were assessed 4 Star Gold in March this year in VisitEnglands rigorous assessment process. Our website is a 100% accurate picture of each cottage in order that you can may your choice from one of our 13 individually styled cottages before you book.

Of course every one is entitled to their own opinion and I fully understand you can’t please everyone or meet unknown expectations.

Peter & Lin (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

After a soul destroying drive on a Friday afternoon it is such a relief to arrive at such a quiet and peaceful location. The cottage was lovely and clean and fully equipped; the facilities too are really good with a nice pool, games room and tennis court and it's lovely to be close to nature and see the friendly goats. It is especially good that the facilities are all free to use.
Location is peaceful and if you can cope with the extremely narrow roads and the hills it is a great location. Dartmouth is lovely and Sainsbury's is nearby for supplies. Nice beach at Blackpool 'shingles' when the sun occasionally shines. However, all mainly positive, with the only real negatives are the unpredictable and often rubbish British weather and no mobile phone signal.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HigherBowden, Manager at Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Higher Bowden and your excellent comments. We hope you made good use of our facilities in the less than clement weather (sorry we couldn't do anything about this!).

Lin & Peter (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Beautiful well kept grounds in lovely rural location. Excellent facilities available on site for all the family. Well equipped, comfortable cottages with many thoughtfiul extras. Good location for exploring South Hams area.Ideal holiday location especially for families with young children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandjleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have just returned after spending the most idilic week at Higher Bowden - we stayed in Beech Cottage which was just lovely and when we arrived it was immaculate! The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you could possiblly require - from the cafetier to the bbq, to the fabulous cakes waiting for us on our arrival! My three children adored it - with all the various play areas and the animals they fed - my 2 year old daughter summed it up - when told she was going home - she replied "no mummy - we are home"!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spokes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews