We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Higher Bowden - Hayloft” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Higher Bowden - Hayloft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Hayloft for 7 days and had a lovely time. The cottage was great, had everything you could possibly need and we loved the open plan downstairs. The facilities at Higher Bowden are amazing there was so much to do I could have easily just stayed on site. I would also like to thank Peter and Lin for making us feel so welcome and being extremely friendly whenever we had any dealings with them. I would also like to say well done for all their hard work as Higher Bowden is a beautiful place, we will definitly being going back.
Thanks for a lovely break that even the crappy rain couldn't ruin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_R_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
97
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent our two weeks' summer holiday at the beautifully located Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages. A very friendly set-up. Our cottage (Garden) was excellent and very well equipped for adults and children with view of Peter's pond and also further away the goats and guinea pigs. The facilities were great on the site and very well geared to keeping children occupied and entertained. You could easlily base your day 'at home' although there's so much to do nearby. The local beach at Blackpool Sands is only a short way away and we also ventured to a number of other lovely beaches within a 1/2 hour drive. There are plenty of activities in the area - steam railway, animal farms, otter sanctuary, boat trips etc. - we were never short of ideas for every day. We would certainly recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We are a family from the Netherlands, absolutely in love with the UK. Our stay at Higher Bowden emphasized this only further. It's beautiful, quiet but nearby many sites, a children's paradise, perfect in the things you'd expect and in all the lovely details. Admittedly, we were in luck with the weather, so able to use all the many facilities, but we expect we would have had a fantastic time if the weather had been awful. We would recommend Higher Bowden to anyone!

Room Tip: We were in the 'courtyard' and we was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing 1 week stay at Higher Bowden (we stayed in the Cider Press 2 bed cottage). The cottage itself was lovely and well equipped throughout. The facilities on site are first rate. Both our children (8 and 3) thoroughly enjoyed the activities on offer: swimming pool, spa bath, tennis, pool, table tennis, under 5's play room, golf and several well laid out outdoor play areas. Our little one was thrilled to feed the guinea pigs and the goats. Unfortunately we did not get to use the sauna and the gym. There are even plenty of DVDs available to borrow if you just wanted to put your feet up in front of the telly. All of this tucked away in beautiful landscaped surroundings!! In short there is plenty to keep everyone entertained before / after the day out or even on a rainy day. The lovely Blackpool Sands beach is only less than 5 minutes drive which is a big bonus. Finally, the review would not be complete without mentioning the lovely owners Lin and Peter who were ever helpful and very warm and welcoming - thank you! Some previous reviews have mentioned notices dotted around, but they did not bother us and I would do the same if this were our place and we cared about it!!! We would definitely not hesitate to visit Higher Bowden again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week at High Bowden. We were stunned by the setting, the well thought-through, clever little touches which are present in everything at High Bowden.

Basically whatever the weather you could enjoy yourself either onsite or offsite. The number of repeat customers here speaks for itself.

Beautiful countryside, beaches and utter relaxation all around. Wonderful; and recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanWood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, england
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Cluster of lovely old cottages with excellent facilities (tennis. Pitch and put, play fort, playground, trampoline, swimming pool, gym, pool table, table tennis, goats to feed, garden to wander) deep in rural Devon but only 15 mins drive from town of Dartmouth and to supermarkets etc. 25 mins walk to gorgeous award winning beach with cafe etc. cottages are 17th century so there are quite a few spider webs, but then it is the countryside! My only slight annoyance during a lovely break was the amount of officious notices around the place as to what should and shouldn't be done, owners seemed nice in person but have obviously had bad experiences with guests and sadly it feels like being nagged and mistrusted reading all the little notes dotted around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsZamboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

coming to higher bowden holiday cottages rather spontaniously through a recommendation of the Dartmouth tourist information we spent very pleasant days with our two kids. As German visitors we enjoyed the English charme of the cottages and the enviroment. The apartment and the facilities were tasteful and all is done and kept thoughtfully and in a high standard. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool, the tennis court and games roomes, walks and jogging down to the beach, the fire place in the apartment, ... thanks to our friendly hosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 54 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Leonards Cove Holiday Park
Leonards Cove Holiday Park
#1 of 13 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages

Property: Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Address: Higher Bowden, Dartmouth TQ6 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is now closed for holiday letting ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing