We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Action packed and comfortable.......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked a last minute Easter Break at Higher Bowden. We stayed in Yeomans which is a comfortable 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage in the courtyard. The facilities are great and varied - in the space of 3 days we used the play area, the art loft, the tennis court, the games room (which was stocked with DVDs to borrow), the indoor pool & the pitch & putt green. Both times we used the pool we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves..... it was great that we could walk to Blackpool sands beach (about 1/2 hour away).

Our youngest asked if we could live at Higher Bowden because he had such a lovely time.... we decided the commute to Berkshire would be too long!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1927Pippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay! The cottage was extremely spacious, immaculate & very child-friendly (having the stairgates/high chair/cot helped particularly) The kitchen was equipped to a high standard making self-catering a pleasure! Since our weather wasn't brilliant, we really appreciated having use of the pool & indoor play room. My 4 year old granddaughter also loved visiting the goats & guinea pigs!

We will certainly recommend you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is our fourth time at Higher Bowden and unlikely to be our last. The facilities are brilliant for families - with gorgeous grounds, play areas and animals to feed, plus indoor options for wet days including the pool, play room and art loft. The cottages are comfortable and well kept. There's lots to do in Devon, which is one of the reasons for coming back. Dartmouth is nearby, Totnes is half an hour away, and we spent a day on Dartmoor. During our stay we had a problem with our car. Lin and Peter were really helpful, even offering to give us a lift to the shop. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodGreenMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It's been a couple of years since we last holidayed at Higher Bowden and we were looking forward to unwinding in the knowledge that the children were safe and fully occupied.
Since our last visit the facilities, which had previously been exemplary, had been upgraded even further. The owners made us all feel very welcome and we all had a fabulous time.
Higher Bowden is an oasis in a beautiful area of South Hams and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We enjoyed a wonderful break and have already booked our return visit next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in Yeomans for October half term and we really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was cosy with all we needed and was very comfortable. The facilities on site were great. We went to the swimming pool every day and enjoyed the hot tub! Our two young daughters also enjoyed the play room and outdoor play equipment when it was dry. We also enjoyed the area, having never really explored it. There is plenty to do in a great setting! We will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We had a personal greeting and fairwell by the owner Peter. The setting is stunning, hidden away on a hilly site with a glimpse of the sea peaking through the hills. Well thought out landscaping. Our cottage was Oaktree and it was very charming and very well equipt. What pleased us most though was how toddler friendly it is whilst loosing non of the home from home feel. We didn't have to take any stair gates, chairs etc, it is all supplied. There are several great play areas, indoor and out and our little girl particularly enjoyed feeding the guinipigs and goats whilst our little boy enjoyed picking the wild blackberries and playing in the sand pit. Although we saw several other families it was still very peaceful there. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We booked a last minute short break at the yeomans cottage. The accomodation and facilities are fantastic at the higher bowden cottages. Well equipped cottage with lots of little personal extra touches. Great pool, games room and little walks around the grounds. Short walk to Blackpool sands beach. We would definitely recommend these cottages and so would our 11 year old son. Thank you Peter and Lin.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieHood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherub's Nest
Cherub's Nest
#29 of 52 in Dartmouth
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anzac Street Bistro
Anzac Street Bistro
#17 of 52 in Dartmouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages

Address: Higher Bowden, Dartmouth TQ6 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dartmouth
Price Range: £70 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is now closed for holiday letting ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing